NeXT Computers

NeXT Computer, Inc. => NEXTSTEP / OPENSTEP Software => Topic started by: fmh on March 09, 2008, 02:05:44 pm

Title: DHCP under OpenStep?
Post by: fmh on March 09, 2008, 02:05:44 pm
I just dug out my Mono Slab this week after being mothballed for a couple of years.  Since I last used it my network settings have changed.  The old static IP settings are no longer valid.  I rooted around in the network settings but did not see anything that seemed to suggest that the machine is capable of being a DHCP client and automatically getting an IP address from my router.  Is that true?  If not how do I go about setting this up?

Lastly if not true what's a simple way of setting up the new static IP settings?  I was able to key in a new IP, subnet, and router IP but when I do a NETSTAT from Terminal it still shows the old IP address even though everything via screens shows the new.  Funny thing is I can ping the router and other machines on the network...
Title: DHCP on OPENSTEP 4.2
Post by: pitz on March 10, 2008, 05:04:22 am
A DHCP client is available for NEXTSTEP/OPENSTEP.  I use it to obtain an IP address from my home router.  The version I use is dhcp.2.0pl1, but a later version (2.0pl5) is available from kb7sqi's repository.  See the thread at:

http://www.nextcomputers.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1099&start=0

There is a detailed set of instructions that comes with the package in setting up your cube or slab to run the DHCP client.
Title: DHCP under OpenStep?
Post by: fmh on March 10, 2008, 12:26:09 pm
Thanks I'll give that a look into as it is a pain in the butt right now getting it configured manually.
Title: DHCP under OpenStep?
Post by: helf on March 10, 2008, 02:28:43 pm
I use the DHCP client under NS3.3 on my turbo color. Works really well.