NeXT Computers

NeXT Computer, Inc. => NeXTdimension Board => Topic started by: Rob Blessin Black Hole on November 21, 2015, 01:35:06 am

Title: NeXT Dimension Power on self test error bank 0
Post by: Rob Blessin Black Hole on November 21, 2015, 01:35:06 am
Hello NeXT Community : Has anyone experienced this error before on an NTSC newly recapped Dimensionboard tried swapping ram , I'll try different configs as well ... video here https://youtu.be/-hj9oZ_VYrA . Also it doesn't show up as dual screen configurable in preferences as it should. Best regards Rob Blessin
Title: NeXT Dimension Power on self test error bank 0
Post by: barcher174 on November 21, 2015, 03:09:23 am
Hi Rob,

Are there any blink codes on the dimension board?
Title: NeXT Dimension Power on self test error bank 0
Post by: oneNeXT on November 21, 2015, 11:01:17 am
Hi Rob,

on the video, I'm unable to see if there is a red led blinking or not on the ND board.

Anyway, since it seems to be a software problem, maybe you should consider doing a fresh install of the system on a another disk, keeping the newly recapped Dimensionboard installed.

This may help to have a more precise look of the problem...
Title: Re: NeXT Dimension Power on self test error bank 0
Post by: M Paquette on November 21, 2015, 07:49:38 pm
Quote from: "Rob Blessin Black Hole"Hello NeXT Community : Has anyone experienced this error before on an NTSC newly recapped Dimensionboard tried swapping ram , I'll try different configs as well ... video here https://youtu.be/-hj9oZ_VYrA . Also it doesn't show up as dual screen configurable in preferences as it should. Best regards Rob Blessin


Rob (and others):

The NDinfo tool will tell you about POST failures in more detail than the blinky light.

Try the NDprocmem tool to run more detailed checks.  It sounds like there are memory read/write errors on the board that fail the power-on self test.  These are different from the memory presence checks that just determine if memory sockets are empty or not.

Dropbox with assorted ND tests:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/52it7p1rzriank8/AACeNqox0M6qybpdvvzZmiQwa?dl=0

Note that running some of these tests on an ND board will reboot the i860 to run a custom diagnostic kernel.  If you are running a window system on a working ND board, this would be bad, for 'yank the plug, hard reset' values of bad.
Title: Re: NeXT Dimension Power on self test error bank 0
Post by: Rob Blessin Black Hole on November 21, 2015, 10:03:27 pm
Quote from: "M Paquette"
Quote from: "Rob Blessin Black Hole"Hello NeXT Community : Has anyone experienced this error before on an NTSC newly recapped Dimensionboard tried swapping ram , I'll try different configs as well ... video here https://youtu.be/-hj9oZ_VYrA . Also it doesn't show up as dual screen configurable in preferences as it should. Best regards Rob Blessin


Rob (and others):

The NDinfo tool will tell you about POST failures in more detail than the blinky light.

Try the NDprocmem tool to run more detailed checks.  It sounds like there are memory read/write errors on the board that fail the power-on self test.  These are different from the memory presence checks that just determine if memory sockets are empty or not.

Dropbox with assorted ND tests:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/52it7p1rzriank8/AACeNqox0M6qybpdvvzZmiQwa?dl=0

Note that running some of these tests on an ND board will reboot the i860 to run a custom diagnostic kernel.  If you are running a window system on a working ND board, this would be bad, for 'yank the plug, hard reset' values of bad.
Hello Mike: Spot on , I'm fairly sure it may be a bad ram stick in bank 0. I'm going to try fresh memory in fact it boots with 16Mb and was sent to me that way. The problem developed when I added ram , I think what I'll try is testing the ram first on a NeXT station turbo color to see if I get errors that should help pinpoint if it is the ram then with the known good ram I'll move it back to the board.  
I've already contacted the customer and as it is going overseas , I'm going to ship him a known good PAL dimension board.
Mike you would be the man to ask, what are the primary differences between a PAL board and NTSC and are there any gotchas using a PAL here in the US. I realize they are different
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PAL verse https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NTSC
 wondering if you personally preferred working on one over the other in your NeXT endeavors!  Thanks for the help always appreciated , I'm hesitant to run the NeXT Dimension diagnostic in case a problem develops that is over the scope of my learning so far .
I'll post my results thanks for the help and advice all, several cool projects going right now in parallel...
I'm going to FTP the ND Tests from drop box to the archives as well!