NeXT Computers

NeXT Computer, Inc. => Emulation / Virtualization => Topic started by: blakespot on April 20, 2018, 06:12:35 pm

Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: blakespot on April 20, 2018, 06:12:35 pm
I have Previous 2.0 on Windows and a NS3.3 .dd volume I downloaded and after following the instructions for setting up networking that came with the .dd, I see the EN light blink a bit and when I

telnet bbs.fozztexx.com

The command sits there thinking and the EN light blinks, but nothing happens. So it's somewhat setup correctly. I followed these instructions:

QuoteHowto: Setup networking on NeXTstep 3.0 and later:

1. Use Simple Network Starter (you find it in the NextAdmin directory)
  and set up some values:
  a  Check "Provide the services specified below."
  b  Choose a hostname (whatever you want).
  c  Set IP address to "10.0.2.15".
  d  Go to "Network Options..." and set
     Router to "10.0.2.2"
     Broadcast Address to "10.0.2.255"
     Netmask to "255.255.255.0" and
     NIS Domain Name to "None".
  e  Hit configure. You will be prompted to connect the Ethernet
     cable.
  f  If not already done, connect emulated Ethernet now using
     Previous' GUI and hit OK.

2. Using root access rights open and edit these files:
  a  /etc/hostconfig and replace "-ROUTER-" with "10.0.2.2".
  b  /etc/resolv.conf and add "nameserver 10.0.2.3".
     If this file does not exist, you have to first create it.
     Be sure you create a plain text file. If you use Edit.app
     you can do this by selecting Format > Text > Make ASCII.

  Howto: Open the above files using root privileges (NeXTstep 3.3):
  a  Open the /etc directory with this command in Terminal:
     "open /etc"
  b  Select the file/application to open and from Workspace select
     Services > Open Sesame > Open As Root.
  c  For making a new resolv.conf open Edit.app the same way (b)
     and in the save dialog type as name "/etc/resolv.conf"

3. Reboot.


(I used vi from terminal to edit, fwiw.) But -- not quite working. Any ideas? Thanks.


bp[/quote]
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: neozeed on April 21, 2018, 05:14:44 am
start with the basics..

with SLiRP the only thing you can ping is the gateway, see if that works.

ping 10.0.2.2

I think NeXTSTEP should have nslookup, try to resolve a DNS name...
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: blakespot on April 21, 2018, 01:16:40 pm
Quote from: "neozeed"start with the basics..

with SLiRP the only thing you can ping is the gateway, see if that works.

ping 10.0.2.2

I think NeXTSTEP should have nslookup, try to resolve a DNS name...


Well, first ping isn't on the system. I'll need to get that solved first. :-) I will look into mounting a shared volume thru Previous, which I'm guessing is possible.


bp
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: andreas_g on April 21, 2018, 01:28:25 pm
Ping is normally present on a NeXTstep 3.3 installation. But on my system it is not recognized, if I am running it as normal user. I need to run it as super user: #su
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: t-rexky on April 21, 2018, 01:38:54 pm
If I recall, this is just a path issue - it's not on the search path unless you are a superuser...
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: blakespot on April 23, 2018, 01:51:45 pm
Quote from: "neozeed"start with the basics..

with SLiRP the only thing you can ping is the gateway, see if that works.

ping 10.0.2.2

I think NeXTSTEP should have nslookup, try to resolve a DNS name...

As root I can, indeed, ping 10.0.2.2 -- getting successful ping returns. I can't nslookup anything -- just stalls. Any ideas from here? Thanks.


bp
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: neozeed on April 23, 2018, 01:56:27 pm
Quote from: "blakespot"
Quote from: "neozeed"start with the basics..

with SLiRP the only thing you can ping is the gateway, see if that works.

ping 10.0.2.2

I think NeXTSTEP should have nslookup, try to resolve a DNS name...

As root I can, indeed, ping 10.0.2.2 -- getting successful ping returns. I can't nslookup anything -- just stalls. Any ideas from here? Thanks.


bp


what is your /etc/resolv.conf

I'd try the following:

10.0.2.3

this should have slirp intercept and ask the OS on your behalf...

8.8.8.8

the google....


1.1.1.1
1.0.0.1  the new cloudflare ones...


also check your route table..

netstat -nr

make sure your gateway is set to 10.0.2.2
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: blakespot on April 23, 2018, 02:29:55 pm
Quote from: "neozeed"

what is your /etc/resolv.conf

I'd try the following:

10.0.2.3

this should have slirp intercept and ask the OS on your behalf...

8.8.8.8

the google....


1.1.1.1
1.0.0.1  the new cloudflare ones...


also check your route table..

netstat -nr

make sure your gateway is set to 10.0.2.2


I can ping and get returns on 10.0.2.3 but none of the other IPs you mention -- 100% packet loss there. My /etc/resolv.conf is the one following line:

nameserver 10.0.2.3

And my netstat -nr output is:

(http://blakespot.com/images/NSnetstat.png)

Thanks.


bp
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: neozeed on April 23, 2018, 02:34:37 pm
Yep you can only ping 10.0.2.2

Try nslookup


nslookup
> server 1.1.1.1
Default server: 1.1.1.1
Address: 1.1.1.1#53
> www.google.com
Server:         1.1.1.1
Address:        1.1.1.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:   www.google.com
Address: 74.125.201.99
Name:   www.google.com
Address: 74.125.201.103
Name:   www.google.com
Address: 74.125.201.104
Name:   www.google.com
Address: 74.125.201.105
Name:   www.google.com
Address: 74.125.201.106
Name:   www.google.com
Address: 74.125.201.147
>


Try all the servers... See if any of this resolves...

Try telnetting to 71.95.196.34
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: blakespot on April 23, 2018, 02:41:40 pm
Quote from: "neozeed"

Try all the servers... See if any of this resolves...

Try telnetting to 71.95.196.34

nslookup just stalls pointing at 1.1.1.1 or 1.0.0.1, etc. Telnet to the .34 IP just stalls.


bp
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: neozeed on April 23, 2018, 02:50:26 pm
I'm not sure..  I'm stuck with only my Android phone and an ancient g4 MacBook at the moment.... So I can't really do anything windows like.

Did you boot with the Ethernet connected?

I find it works best with it unconnected at the ROM, and to enable it after the kernel starts to look initialize
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: blakespot on April 23, 2018, 02:59:05 pm
Trying it running as Administrator. I don't do much with Windows, myself, but game. I just couldn't find Previous 2.x on macOS. Do you happen to know where it can be had, precompiled? Thanks.


bp
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: neozeed on April 23, 2018, 03:02:26 pm
Admin privileges shouldn't matter at all when it comes to slirp...

What version of Windows was it anyway?

Cmake hides everything so I really have no idea if it's doing anything strange while building...
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: blakespot on April 23, 2018, 03:05:15 pm
Quote from: "neozeed"Admin privileges shouldn't matter at all when it comes to slirp...

What version of Windows was it anyway?

Cmake hides everything so I really have no idea if it's doing anything strange while building...

A recent version (if not very latest update) of Windows 10 Pro 64-bit.


bp
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: blakespot on April 24, 2018, 03:40:26 pm
I've tried only enabling Ethernet in Pervious options at different points in the boot sequence and nothing is working. Have you heard of others running Previous 2, Windows 10 Pro 64 having networking work?

Frustrating.



bp
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: blakespot on April 24, 2018, 10:43:37 pm
Wait, I don't need to explicitly run SLiRP under Windows right? It's rolled into Previous, ya? Is that my problem?
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: eagle on April 25, 2018, 11:49:40 am
Quote from: "blakespot"I just couldn't find Previous 2.x on macOS. Do you happen to know where it can be had, precompiled? Thanks.

Hey Blake - it is available on my Previous site - http://previous.unixdude.net/download.html
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: blakespot on April 25, 2018, 06:06:30 pm
Quote from: "eagle"
Quote from: "blakespot"I just couldn't find Previous 2.x on macOS. Do you happen to know where it can be had, precompiled? Thanks.

Hey Blake - it is available on my Previous site - http://previous.unixdude.net/download.html

Thank you! And networking works for me under OS X. Not sure why Windows 10 setup didn't work as far as networking.

(https://farm1.staticflickr.com/863/41657938322_664a0aec6e.jpg) (https://flic.kr/p/26taPHU)
Logging into Level 29 BBS on an original NeXT computer (...emulated via Previous 2.0) (https://flic.kr/p/26taPHU) by Blake Patterson (https://www.flickr.com/photos/blakespot/), on Flickr

Cheers.
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: eagle on April 25, 2018, 06:26:29 pm
I generally use NFS or an ISO disk image to transfer files. A while ago, some NFS activity would cause Previous to crash but I have not tried it lately.
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: paolo.bertolo on December 27, 2018, 10:45:42 am
Exactly the same situation, but this time with Previous 2.1 + NS3.3 on MacOS (tried on two different machines with different OS). Checked all I could, apparently everything is fine, consistent with what the real NeXT machines are reading (bar for the addresses, of course), but still no way to get networking up and running.
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: paolo.bertolo on January 13, 2019, 07:19:42 pm
Tried to run the whole thing all over again, but networking still does not fully work. E.g. if I ping www.apple.com, the address is resolved but all packets are lost.
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: multi on January 14, 2019, 01:04:28 am
Quote from: "paolo.bertolo"Tried to run the whole thing all over again, but networking still does not fully work. E.g. if I ping www.apple.com, the address is resolved but all packets are lost.


what's your gateway address? do a netstat -rn and look for a 'default' or a '0.0.0.0' (sorry, dont have a NS/OS box handy to tell you exactly what to look for). Or just post the whole output here.

The gateway would need to be local (same network).
Title: Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Post by: paolo.bertolo on January 17, 2019, 07:32:03 pm
The Previous stuff (NeXTComputer - NeXTStep 3.3)

previous: 1# netstat -rn
Routing tables
Destination      Gateway            Flags     Refs  Use     Interface
127.0.0.1        127.0.0.1          UH          2     282     lo0
default            10.0.2.2            UG          0        0      en0
10.2.2             10.0.2.15          U            4     755     en0
previous: 2#


The real thing (NeXTComputer - NeXTStep 3.3)

nextcomputer:6# netstat -rn
Routing tables
Destination        Gateway             Flags     Refs     Use  Interface
127.0.0.1          127.0.0.1            UH          2      300   lo0
default              192.168.88.1       UG          0        4    en0
192.168.88       192.168.88.55      U           4     1207  en0
nextcomputer:7#