NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
dhcp package for Rhapsody

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Rhapsody
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
it68000



Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 82
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 7:28 am    Post subject: dhcp package for Rhapsody Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm looking for the package that install a DHCP client in Rhapsody. The package is mentioned in some articles and forums, but I cannot acces or find any download location.

Thanks in advance
_________________
NEXTstation Turbo Color with NEXTSTEP 3.3, OPENSTEP 4.2 emulated on Parallels for PC, NEXTCube Dimension (25Mhz)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RacerX



Joined: 03 Jan 2006
Posts: 333
Location: Twin Cities, MN

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a DHCP package on this page.

And I would point out that I found that package on my site using the google search field on the home page of my site. While Google may not have indexed every PDF or TAR package on my site, they do a good job providing results for most everything else. I don't have all this stuff memorized, so I use my site as much, if not more than most people to answer questions.
_________________
Rhapsody Resource Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
it68000



Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 82
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks RacerX

I've looked on your site but unfortunately I've missed the Google search field! Very useful.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RacerX



Joined: 03 Jan 2006
Posts: 333
Location: Twin Cities, MN

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, while not as nice as NeXT's Digital Librarian, OmniLibrarian can make search the RhapsodyAnswers collection easier too.
_________________
Rhapsody Resource Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CarlP



Joined: 21 May 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RacerX, does the DHCP package work for Mac OS X Server too (Rhapsody 5.5)?

-Carl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RacerX



Joined: 03 Jan 2006
Posts: 333
Location: Twin Cities, MN

PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CarlP wrote:
RacerX, does the DHCP package work for Mac OS X Server too (Rhapsody 5.5)?

It should... but honestly, I've never actually used it on any of my systems. All three of my Rhapsody systems have their information put in manually, and I set the IP addresses high enough to stay out of the way of my network's router.

The last time I had considered attempting to use it was back in 2002 when I was running 5.6 on my original PowerBook Wallstreet and taking it with me when seeing clients.

But I was under the impression that it was designed to work with 5.3 and later.

Sorry that wasn't more helpful. Embarassed
_________________
Rhapsody Resource Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CarlP



Joined: 21 May 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks RacerX. Just thought I'd check before taking the risk of messing up my installation. Also, thanks for the great site!

-Carl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrintel



Joined: 05 Jul 2009
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 12:04 pm    Post subject: DHCP Issues Reply with quote

I've been having some difficulty using the package. It installs just fine, but I'm not sure how to "use" it. I tried running the startup program "1050_DHCP", but when I do, I get this:


Starting DHCP Client.
Internet Software Consortium DHCP Client 2.0
Copyright 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999 The Internet Software Consortium.
All Rights Reserved.

Please contribute if you find this software useful.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/dhcp-contrib.html

ifconfig: not found
Can't attach en0 to bpf device /dev/bpf1: Network is down
exiting.

[Process exited - exit code 1]


Does anyone know what this means, or how I can fix it?
Thanks

Mr. Intel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
RacerX



Joined: 03 Jan 2006
Posts: 333
Location: Twin Cities, MN

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wish I had more personal experience with this stuff, but I just haven't had a compelling reason to attempt to use it.

But maybe this article might prove helpful in some way.
_________________
Rhapsody Resource Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Rhapsody All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group