NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Rhapsody Developer Release

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Rhapsody
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
skaffloth



Joined: 07 Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:48 am    Post subject: Rhapsody Developer Release Reply with quote

I got the Rhapsody Developer Release for PC Compatibles (DR1?) and the Yellow Box for WIndows NT/95.
I thought it would be cool to install Rhapsody, but I can't mount the disc in Mac OS X or OpenStep 4.2, booting it from Parallels does not work as well.
Looking at the disk surface it looks like it doesn't contain anything = blank...

Could that be possible?

If so, where could you exchange one? Would Apple do it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bkmoore



Joined: 01 Jan 2009
Posts: 183
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've never touched Rhapsody, but with NeXTSTEP and OpenSTEP, you need the boot floppies to mount the CD and start the installation. I'm not sure which format the CD is, but I could only mount it in a NeXT environment, so I expect it is non-standard.

Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skaffloth



Joined: 07 Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I couldn't mount it in OpenStep, it wouldn't mount the disk, that's why I am wondering.
I got hold of the boot disks for DR2,
found a place on the net where they had the whole DR2 for download,
not sure they would work for DR1?
Anyone know the location of boot/driver floppies for DR1?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RacerX



Joined: 03 Jan 2006
Posts: 333
Location: Twin Cities, MN

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

skaffloth wrote:
I couldn't mount it in OpenStep, it wouldn't mount the disk, that's why I am wondering.


When doing Rhapsody stuff, it is helpful to have Rhapsody documentation (like the RhapsodyAnswers set I put together for everyone). In that set of documents there is an RTF file called 00004-RDR_Filesystem.rtfd which says:

Rhadsody Developer Release Filesystem

TOPIC
The Rhapsody Developer Release (RDR) has a fundamental incompatability with OPENSTEP/Mach (and NeXTStep) that you should be aware of when planning how to install and evaluate this software. Specifically, RDR/Intel uses a different file system format than either RDR/PPC or OPENSTEP/ NeXTStep. You will not be able to set up systems to dualboot RDR/Intel and previous Mach/Intel operating systems. You will also not be able to exchange external hard disks and/ or removable media between RDR/Intel and other versions of Mach. Rhapsody/PPC will be able to read (mount read-only) media created on previous versions of Mach. Read/write access to older media is not supported.

DISCUSSION
The specific technical issues are as follows:
OpenStep/Mach (all versions) used the original m68k UFS file format, for all architectures. Where necessary (Intel, etc) it was programmed to do byte-swapping on the file system structures as it read them off the disk.


The DR1 release of Rhapsody (for both PPC and Intel) does not have this byte-swapping code in it, so the two systems are currently using incompatable file system formats. It happens that the PPC version has the same byte sequence that the original m68k system used, so that Rhapsody/PPC can read OpenStep/Mach disks created on any architecture. Rhapsody/ Intel can't read anyone else's disks.

In addition, the RDR native file system is based on the BSD4.4 file system. Previous Mach versions used the BSD4.3 file system format. The new file system supports huge (64 bit offset) files, and has some other changes. RDR only supports read access to the older file system.




skaffloth wrote:
Anyone know the location of boot/driver floppies for DR1?


You can download them here.
_________________
Rhapsody Resource Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
skaffloth



Joined: 07 Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Location: Sacramento, CA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, then it make sense that I can't see the disk...
Thx for the boot disks for DR1, I will try out my DR1 disk and see if I can get it installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Rhapsody All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group