NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
system panic nextstep 3.3 install

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Emulation / Virtualization
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hallonet99swe



Joined: 05 Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Location: Oskarström, Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 6:27 am    Post subject: system panic nextstep 3.3 install Reply with quote

Hi

Im using Wmware workstation 10 and when i install Nextstep 3.3 i come to this black screen:


When i created the machine i created the harddrive as 1.0 GB and pre- allowcated.
And 128 MB RAM.

When it asking the first time after driver disk i chose option 4 in the menu.
And after that i insert the beta driver and chose 7 to the next menu and 2 in that menu.

Im using a computer with:

AMD A-Series Proccesor
1 TB harddrive
Windows 8.1 pro
8 GB of ram

Can somebody help me[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mominul



Joined: 16 Jan 2014
Posts: 87
Location: Bangladesh

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This can be for your AMD processor, I am not sure! Smile
Edit: may be it is not processor problem. May be the virtual drive not ready because error is telling that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Morgon



Joined: 20 Mar 2006
Posts: 100
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:02 pm    Post subject: Re: system panic nextstep 3.3 install Reply with quote

It seems as it is trying to boot from the CD drive (sd0) and no CD is inserted / no image connected.

Does this happen after you installed the system or during installation?

If it is the first you might try to tell the kernel to search hd0 for the root partition (something like "hd()mach_kernel rootdev=hd0a", it's quite some years ago I needed that Wink ).

Morgon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hallonet99swe



Joined: 05 Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Location: Oskarström, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Morgon for reminding me that im not using CD.
Im using floppy images. And yes thats happen during the installation.

P.S Keep in mind im a newbie on this(Im new on this).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Morgon



Joined: 20 Mar 2006
Posts: 100
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hallonet99swe wrote:
Thanks Morgon for reminding me that im not using CD.
Im using floppy images. And yes thats happen during the installation.

P.S Keep in mind im a newbie on this(Im new on this).


You can't do an install with just the floppy images. The floppies contain only the kernel itself and some basic drivers to access the CD drive and hard disk. The installation system itself is located on the system CD.

That's why your installation stops with the vfs_mountroot error, the kernel can't mount the installation root filesystem as you don't have the system CD inserted (or attached to the VM as CD image).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rob Blessin Black Hole
Site Admin


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 586
Location: Ft. Collins, Colorado

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Morgon wrote:
hallonet99swe wrote:
Thanks Morgon for reminding me that im not using CD.
Im using floppy images. And yes thats happen during the installation.

P.S Keep in mind im a newbie on this(Im new on this).


You can't do an install with just the floppy images. The floppies contain only the kernel itself and some basic drivers to access the CD drive and hard disk. The installation system itself is located on the system CD.

That's why your installation stops with the vfs_mountroot error, the kernel can't mount the installation root filesystem as you don't have the system CD inserted (or attached to the VM as CD image).


After you load the boot disk and then device drivers you need to point it at the NeXTSTEP3.3User.ISO image , it may need a specific extension to see it once it does you should be able to pick the partition and continue to install NeXTSTEP as long as the version of VM ware is compatible. http://youtu.be/uVCxfoG8bv4 shows how to !
_________________
Rob Blessin President computerpowwow ebay sales@blackholeinc.com http://www.blackholeinc.com
303-741-9998 Serving the NeXT Community since 2/9/93
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Emulation / Virtualization All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group