NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Basic cdrom mounting question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Emulation / Virtualization
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
spintronic



Joined: 13 Nov 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 4:01 pm    Post subject: Basic cdrom mounting question Reply with quote

Hi guys,

I have NextStep 3.3 running on VMWare Player 6.0.2. I want to mount the developer's CD but can't seem to figure out which device, if any, it is assigned too. Can somebody please help me understand how to find and mount CDROM's on a virtual NextStep system? I tried both IDE and SCSI drives and mounting /dev/hd1a and /dev/sd0a and /dev/sd1a to no avail.

Thanks,
Jovan
Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eagle



Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 393

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeXTSTEP 3.3 mounts the CD automatically, so you should be able to connect the CD to VMware, and then have NeXTSTEP see it. On my OS X box running Mavericks and Fusion 6, I put the CD into the drive, and OS X asks if I want to ignore it or eject it; I choose Ignore. Then, I connect my computer's CD-ROM drive directly to the NeXT VM, and it automatically shows up in Workspace Manager.
_________________
My NeXTs:
NeXT Computer prototype (68030-25 x2, 68040-25)
Two NeXTstations (68040-25)
All mono
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spintronic



Joined: 13 Nov 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 7:15 pm    Post subject: Wonder if I'm missing drivers then. Reply with quote

Oh ok. So do I need to install drivers in order to get a VMWare mounted iso file to be recognized? I don't see anything. The os also says it doesn't have a network interface installed as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eagle



Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 393

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For network and other things, you need to install VMware drivers, yes. Search the forums here; you'll find instructions on doing that.

If you have an ISO image of the 3.3 Developer Tools CD, you should be able to attach that ISO image to VMware Player, and have NeXTSTEP see it, with no additional drivers needed.
_________________
My NeXTs:
NeXT Computer prototype (68030-25 x2, 68040-25)
Two NeXTstations (68040-25)
All mono
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eagle



Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 393

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to be clear: you should take your ISO and connect that to the VM using VMware Player's "Connect CD/DVD" feature. The guest OS will know how to read the image.
_________________
My NeXTs:
NeXT Computer prototype (68030-25 x2, 68040-25)
Two NeXTstations (68040-25)
All mono
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spintronic



Joined: 13 Nov 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks eagle. The problem turned out to be the VMware image I found is NextStep 4.0, which has a problem with mounting the cd drive. When I run the NextStep 3.3 image from osvirtual.net the cd drive is mounted on boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Emulation / Virtualization All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group