NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Best vm or emulator for NS 3.3 Intel?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Emulation / Virtualization
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ardi



Joined: 11 Jun 2014
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 9:31 am    Post subject: Best vm or emulator for NS 3.3 Intel? Reply with quote

Hi,

Which one (VMWare or Virtualbox) is more complete and stable for running NeXTSTEP 3.3?

Alternatively, has anybody tried it with Bochs or PCem?

I'd like to have network emulation, sound, and stable graphics, mouse and keyboard.

What virtual machine or emulator would you recommend for getting the most stable and complete working system?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eagle



Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use VMware Fusion, and it works great for everything except sound.
_________________
My NeXTs:
NeXT Computer prototype (68030-25 x2, 68040-25)
Two NeXTstations (68040-25)
All mono
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ardi



Joined: 11 Jun 2014
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eagle wrote:
I use VMware Fusion, and it works great for everything except sound.

Why? Doesn't NeXTSTEP support the Sound Blaster on Intel PCs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eagle



Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It does, but the driver does not work in the latest versions of Fusion.
_________________
My NeXTs:
NeXT Computer prototype (68030-25 x2, 68040-25)
Two NeXTstations (68040-25)
All mono
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jvernet



Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 1:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I recently (this WE) tried to install Openstep 4.2 on VMWare Fusion 6.0.5 (MacOsX 10.9) and VirtualBox 4.3.24 on W7:

- Fusion: no sound, working network, working screen at 1024x725 with VMwarefb1.1.1 driver, mouse working with VMouse. Crash (blue screen with an inverse 'u' in left corner) when selecting a better resolution.

- VirtualBox: sound, no network, some graphical glitch with VESA VBE drivers at 1024x7268

i will give a try for Rhapsody DR2 soon.
_________________
--
Apple & NeXT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
eagle



Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jvernet, I forget how I did it, but I had OS 4.2 running at 1280x1024 with that driver. I think you have to edit a file manually to set the resolution, but maybe I'm thinking of the manual config for the mouse.
_________________
My NeXTs:
NeXT Computer prototype (68030-25 x2, 68040-25)
Two NeXTstations (68040-25)
All mono
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pitz



Joined: 14 Aug 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Oregon, USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jvernet wrote:
I recently (this WE) tried to install Openstep 4.2 on VMWare Fusion 6.0.5 (MacOsX 10.9) and VirtualBox 4.3.24 on W7:

- Fusion: no sound, working network, working screen at 1024x725 with VMwarefb1.1.1 driver, mouse working with VMouse. Crash (blue screen with an inverse 'u' in left corner) when selecting a better resolution.

- VirtualBox: sound, no network, some graphical glitch with VESA VBE drivers at 1024x7268

i will give a try for Rhapsody DR2 soon.


I use VirtualBox on W8.1 for running OPENSTEP 4.2 and Rhapsody DR2, though not extensively. Can you provide additional details on the VESA driver glitches you've observed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jvernet



Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some horizontal lines sometime, when moving windows, that stay on screen for few second. Mouse pointer sometime leave some pixel around, also. Not very important.

The most annoying problem I am face is that mounting ISO image as CDROM do not work all the time. I may try to connect the virtual drive to an SCSI card, if I can.

mount do not work, need to reboot, and sometime more than once.
_________________
--
Apple & NeXT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pitz



Joined: 14 Aug 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Oregon, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jvernet wrote:
Some horizontal lines sometime, when moving windows, that stay on screen for few second. Mouse pointer sometime leave some pixel around, also. Not very important.

The most annoying problem I am face is that mounting ISO image as CDROM do not work all the time. I may try to connect the virtual drive to an SCSI card, if I can.

mount do not work, need to reboot, and sometime more than once.


Thanks for the info on the video glitches -- I'll watch for them on those occasions that I bring up my OPENSTEP virtual machine.

Regarding the mounting problems, I've definitely encountered issues with older versions of VirtualBox. With the latest version of VirtualBox, the only issue I've had so far was that with high-end faster host systems, the out-of-the-box OPENSTEP EIDE driver would sometimes generate errors. Upgrading to the EIDE drivers in the Beta Drivers disk fixed those errors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jvernet



Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pitz wrote:

Upgrading to the EIDE drivers in the Beta Drivers disk fixed those errors.

Witch version should be the best ?

I tried with different ones which seems to work also, but not from the beta drivers disk.

These drivers may also work with Rhapsody, isn'it ?
_________________
--
Apple & NeXT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pitz



Joined: 14 Aug 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Oregon, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jvernet wrote:
pitz wrote:

Upgrading to the EIDE drivers in the Beta Drivers disk fixed those errors.

Witch version should be the best ?

I tried with different ones which seems to work also, but not from the beta drivers disk.

These drivers may also work with Rhapsody, isn'it ?


If you could get the PIIX (v4.03) device controller to load, it should provide better performance. Otherwise, the standard primary/secondary dual EIDE controller (v4.03) also works. Both from the OS 4.2 beta drivers diskette. I haven't attempted using them in Rhapsody.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Emulation / Virtualization All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group