NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
What Needs to be done for a NeXT Emulator
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 43, 44, 45 ... 79, 80, 81  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Emulation / Virtualization
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 716
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK OK I got it. Yes it turns out my slirp is 32bit only.

To build 32bit you need to do

Code:
cmake -DCMAKE_OSX_ARCHITECTURES=i386 .


To force the blasted thing.

I need to jiggle the timing better but I did telnet to a bbs!


_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andreas_g



Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 442
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is quite impressive! If you are on Mac OS X it might be useful to use Xcode for debugging purpose. Maybe you already know, but you can easily create an Xcode project using
Code:
#cmake -G Xcode
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 716
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's late, and I need some Zzzss..

So here is what I have now for OS X. (Sorry windows users, I thought I trashed my OS X box, but I really trashed mingw32..)

My binary for OS X here.

The source code is here.

On compiling, you have to manually build slirp.. Its not hard at all since it only seems to work in 32bit mode, something like this:

Code:
$ cd slirp
$ sh buildOSX106-i386.sh

A whole bunch of warnings...
Quote:
1 warning generated.
19


this number *MUST* be 19.... as that is how many object files it should have.

OK, now be sure to have cmake generate a 32bit build..

Code:
cmake -DCMAKE_OSX_ARCHITECTURES=i386 .


make, and it'll bomb on linking... ok

edit
Code:
CMakeFiles/Previous.dir/link.txt


look for something like

Code:
debug/libDebug.a


and add this after it:

Code:
slirp/slirp106i386.a


And after all that, it should get you an executable.

I'm on 10.10.3 with latest xcode.
_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mikeboss



Joined: 07 Dec 2011
Posts: 370
Location: berne, switzerland

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is great news, impressive!

I tried to run this new release of Previous on OS X 10.9.5 and 10.10.3 but all I got was an error:

Previous cannot be opened because of a problem.

Check with the developer to make sure Previous works with this version of OS X. You may need to reinstall the application. Be sure to install any available updates for the application and OS X.

Click Report to see more detailed information and send a report to Apple.

any idea what might have gone wrong?

regards,
michael
_________________
October 12, 1988 Computing Advances To The NeXT Level
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andreas_g



Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 442
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great work, thank you! I was able to build the sources after adding them to the Cmake project. The source code is here.
It can be used to build an Xcode project for debugging purpose.

I also made a quick binary build (download here). I did not test networking yet, but there seem to be problems booting later versions of NeXTstep.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jasonwoodland



Joined: 26 Mar 2014
Posts: 18
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikeboss wrote:
this is great news, impressive!

I tried to run this new release of Previous on OS X 10.9.5 and 10.10.3 but all I got was an error:

Previous cannot be opened because of a problem.


I had to install SDL 2 after running the program from the terminal
http://www.libsdl.org/download-2.0.php
hope this helps!

I also got it working after ^C'ing through some weird loop at boot. is there anything I need to config in NEXTSTEP? thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
eagle



Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 445

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WOW WOW WOW WOW

Look what happens when I go away for a day!

I downloaded Andreas's quick build, but unfortunately it doesn't work on my MacBook running 10.9.5. "ifconfig en0" does show the correct setup, but I cannot ping the router or my MacBook's address.

Still, this is AMAZING progress!!
_________________
My NeXTs:
NeXT Computer prototype (68030-25 x2, 68040-25)
Two NeXTstations (68040-25)
All mono
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 716
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh yeah I should have added this...

You *HAVE* to use the following configuration

Code:
IP address: 10.0.2.15
netmask 255.255.255.0
default gateway 10.0.2.2


DNS can be 10.0.2.3 although you can use 4.2.2.4, I recall nextstep and 8.8.8.8 don't get along.

The ONLY address you can ping is 10.0.2.2

I am pretty sure I didn't configure NS 0.8 correctly as I didn't get DNS working so I'm telnetting by ip address.
_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jasonwoodland



Joined: 26 Mar 2014
Posts: 18
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

neozeed wrote:
You *HAVE* to use the following configuration

Code:
IP address: 10.0.2.15
netmask 255.255.255.0
default gateway 10.0.2.2


DNS can be 10.0.2.3 although you can use 4.2.2.4, I recall nextstep and 8.8.8.8 don't get along.


do I set these via the terminal or using SNS or rather something else?
also what about broadcast address?

cheers! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 716
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

andreas_g wrote:
Great work, thank you! I was able to build the sources after adding them to the Cmake project. The source code is here.
It can be used to build an Xcode project for debugging purpose.

I also made a quick binary build (download here). I did not test networking yet, but there seem to be problems booting later versions of NeXTstep.


Networking on NS is a real PITA. I had these issues on my cube back in the day with a virgin 3.3 install, and connected ethernet it would hang on boot, or take like an HOUR to come up unless you hit control C



Basically once the tape virtual devices initialize (nrst0 & nrst1), hit control C and it'll boot

And here is how you should configure NS...



Remember the config tool screws up the gateway, so you have to manually put it in there.

Now for the part I don't get, the NeXT Computer booting 0.8 can use TCP just fine, but a NeXTstation booting 3.3 can't use TCP to save it's life. It seems that the NeXT Computer are incapable of booting 3.3.

Wait I just got a cube to boot into 3.3 with working network!

From my config:
Code:

[System]
nMachineType = 1
bColor = FALSE
bTurbo = FALSE
bADB = FALSE
nSCSI = TRUE
nRTC = FALSE
nCpuLevel = 4
nCpuFreq = 33
bCompatibleCpu = TRUE
bBlitter = FALSE
nDSPType = 0
bRealTimeClock = FALSE
bPatchTimerD = FALSE
bFastForward = FALSE
bAddressSpace24 = FALSE
bCycleExactCpu = FALSE
n_FPUType = 68040
bCompatibleFPU = TRUE
bMMU = TRUE


I kind of screwed up my keyboard, but you get the idea!


_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 716
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jasonwoodland wrote:
neozeed wrote:
You *HAVE* to use the following configuration

Code:
IP address: 10.0.2.15
netmask 255.255.255.0
default gateway 10.0.2.2


DNS can be 10.0.2.3 although you can use 4.2.2.4, I recall nextstep and 8.8.8.8 don't get along.


do I set these via the terminal or using SNS or rather something else?
also what about broadcast address?

cheers! Very Happy


I've only networked 3.3 so in the admin section there is a simple config tool, you can configure it there, but it's buggy and doesn't work right. Once it's done it's thing, edit it manually and use something like this:

Code:
HOSTNAME=prev33
INETADDR=10.0.2.15
ROUTER=10.0.2.2
IPNETMASK=255.255.255.0
IPBROADCAST=10.0.2.255
NETMASTER=-YES-
YPDOMAIN=-NO-
TIME=-AUTOMATIC-


Assuming you want your machine called prev33. See my previous posts on a machine type that'll boot 3.3 with networking!
_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 716
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I checked one thing, the more often the slirp timer fires, the better it is, and it looks like my mutex's are blocking any code stomps so I dropped it to 10ms, and it feels snappier to telnet out.

From ethernet.c all you have to do is drop the SDL_Delay

Code:
static int tick_func(void *arg)
{
    while(slirp_inited)
    {
    SDL_Delay(10);
        slirp_tick();
    }
    return 0;
}


I will try to figure out why I can't telnet in.
_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jasonwoodland



Joined: 26 Mar 2014
Posts: 18
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 12:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i don't know much but it seems it isn't receiving packets even though slirp is?
OS4.2 NeXTstation Color using andreas_g's build a few posts up
I have NeXTstation selected in System since i cant seem to get anything running on the "NeXT Computer" option. Would that possibly cause this behaviour?



Last edited by jasonwoodland on Sun Apr 12, 2015 12:13 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 716
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jasonwoodland wrote:
i don't know much but it seems it isn't receiving packets even though slirp is?
OS4.2 NeXTstation Color using andreas_g's build a few posts up
I have NeXTstation selected in System since i cant seem to get anything running on the "NeXT Computer" option. Would that possibly cause this behaviour?


I couldnt get the nextstation to do tcp. Try the cube @33mhz and see how that goes. (Not the turbo cube, the regular one, but bump the CPU frequency)
_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jasonwoodland



Joined: 26 Mar 2014
Posts: 18
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

neozeed wrote:
I couldnt get the nextstation to do tcp. Try the cube @33mhz and see how that goes. (Not the turbo cube, the regular one, but bump the CPU frequency)


no luck with the cube either. running NS3.3 on your latest build @33mHz
seems to be the same as before. to clarify, i ping, i can see rx packets but the OS seems oblivious, same with telnet connections, they just time out in NS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Emulation / Virtualization All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 43, 44, 45 ... 79, 80, 81  Next
Page 44 of 81

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group