NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
OS X Server 1.2 on Gigabit G4

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Rhapsody
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
igor_av



Joined: 10 Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Location: Québec

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 7:57 pm    Post subject: OS X Server 1.2 on Gigabit G4 Reply with quote

Hi. I'm about to get hold of a Powermac G4 (Gigabit). I have access to OS X Server 1.2 install disk, which I successful installed on a Powerbook PDQ a few years ago, but I just realized that the Gigabit G4s require 1.2 v3...

    Is it possible to install version 1.2 on a Gigabit G4?

    If not, is it possible to install version 1.2 on another mac, then upgrade it to 1.2 v3 and finally install the hard disk in the G4?

    Or, is there anybody here willing to part with his own 1.2v3 install disks?


Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrintel



Joined: 05 Jul 2009
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the official Apple compatibility chart:

http://web.archive.org/web/20020602034400/http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=106430

Looks like 1.2v3 is what added support for the G4-gigabit, so officially, the answer is no.

However...Have you ever tried installing the older version to see what would happen? Might be worth a shot Wink
_________________
Mr. Intel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
igor_av



Joined: 10 Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Location: Québec

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mrintel wrote:
Here is the official Apple compatibility chart:

http://web.archive.org/web/20020602034400/http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=106430

Looks like 1.2v3 is what added support for the G4-gigabit, so officially, the answer is no.

However...Have you ever tried installing the older version to see what would happen? Might be worth a shot Wink


It's worth trying. I'll give it a shot when I'll get the powermac. Thanks.
_________________
Happy owner of a NeXTstation Turbo Color.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Rhapsody All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group