NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Guide: Openstep 4.2 in VirtualBox

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Emulation / Virtualization
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
itomato



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 302
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 4:43 pm    Post subject: Guide: Openstep 4.2 in VirtualBox Reply with quote



Create the VM
-------------------------------------

Give it a sensible name. The operating system and version do not matter much here – I have installed OS 4.2 using the Mac OS X description before – just for the nice icon Cool
'Other' works just as well.
The default forgthe 'Other' machine type is 64MB – I boosted it to 256 for grins.
-------------------------------------

2GB is sufficient for a User build. I recommend allocating disk in 2GB to 8GB volumes, as NS/OS are notoriously picky about disk sizes.
Addganother disk rather than another partition.
-------------------------------------



-------------------------------------

Clgck on through..
-------------------------------------

Soge customization takes place to configure the machine for Openstep:
– Addga floppy controller
-------------------------------------
[img [http://juddy.org/os42vbox-phase1/OpenstepVirtualBoxGuidePhase1-7_1.png[/img]
Set the Storage Controller to PIIX4
-------------------------------------

Add a floppy controller, and select the install disk floppy image (not a requirement at this step, but we're here..)
-------------------------------------

Enable audgo if you like – choose the Sound Blaster 16
-------------------------------------

Confggurre the network – it is not essential to change the MAC as shown.
-------------------------------------


Start upgthe VM, and you should see this ^
-------------------------------------

Select your language
Press 1, Enter
-------------------------------------


Switch to the device deiver disk image
...and press EntergReturn
-------------------------------------

This will become second nature Smile
7
7
7
5
-------------------------------------

…and again for the secondary controller. 7 7 7 5
-------------------------------------


No additional drivers are required.
-------------------------------------

Et voila.
-------------------------------------

This is always a good sign! Smile
-------------------------------------

The VBOX CDROM gs recognized at sd0, as is our ATA hard disk, hd0
Preposterous!
-------------------------------------

1,gEnter
-------------------------------------

-------------------------------------

1,Enter
1,Enter
-------------------------------------

The disk image gets sliced and formatted..
-------------------------------------
And the installation process gets under way.
This could take anywhere from 5 to 20 minutes, depending on your host machine's capacity.
When the base gnstallation is complete, eject the drivers disk image using the 'devices' menu:
-------------------------------------

...and reboot frog your Openstep 4.2 disk!
-------------------------------------


-------------------------------------

Starting...
You are presented with Configure.app to perform basic configuration.
-------------------------------------

Yougcan select the basic SVGA adapter at this point, but since we're installing patch 4 and using the VESA driver, you can skip this step.
-------------------------------------

The AMD NIC is detected..
-------------------------------------

Forgsound, I choose the SB16 PnP driver –( though there's a replacement driver that seems to work a bit better) along with the System Beep driver – just because it's so damned cool!
-------------------------------------

The overall vgew of the configured devices in your VM. If you wanted to add serial ports, this is where you do that with the 'serial port server'.
-------------------------------------

Yougmay also customize the keyboard layout – the Microsoft Keyboard has all the keys recognized by modern keyboards..
-------------------------------------

...and Save!
-------------------------------------

If you do not select a graphics driver, you still get the VGA BW display. Just click 'save anyway'...
-------------------------------------

Next is the 'real' installation, where the base package sets may be selected. I opt only for the Demonstrations, so I can get Backspace.app!
-------------------------------------

Click 'Install', and wait..
-------------------------------------

After the install completes, reboot again..
-------------------------------------

and wait a bit for the system to come up!
-------------------------------------

Your machine may take a moment trying to configure the network..
-------------------------------------

..and it may not be able to, prompting you to press 'Control-C'. With VirtualBox, the 'Host' key is the 'Right Ctrl' key by default, as shown in the lower right corner of the window. Use the left Ctrl key here.
-------------------------------------

Select the language and keymap – NeXTUSA may give you the Control key in the CapsLock position, if that floats your boat.
Wgth the last few Vms I've built, I'm seeing a phantom floppy in the drive, which when prompted to initialize, shows 'Initializing...' in WorkspaceManager for eternity.
Confirm your selection, and get ready for Phase 2!
-------------------------------------
_________________
-itomato


Last edited by itomato on Wed Aug 04, 2010 7:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Thomas



Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 58
Location: Fremont, CA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately, that ends right where it gets interesting with getting a better display resolution set up Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
itomato



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 302
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep. To come:

- Basic Openstep configuration (Root password, etc.)
- Install Patch 4 (get VESA capability, clock persistence, etc..)
- VirtualBox networking howto (static network configuration)

The thing is, most of this stuff is covered in eleventy other places. Granted, a virtual machine presents a special case, but so much if it has been covered in so many ways in so many places, I am not in a hurry to re-re-rewrite what goes back 10 years.
_________________
-itomato
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Thomas



Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 58
Location: Fremont, CA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will that all work also for NeXTSTEP 3.3?
I have a circuit layout program that only runs on 3.3 and it also only works well with a big color display. So a working display driver is the most urgent thing I need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
itomato



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 302
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:56 pm    Post subject: Phase 2 Reply with quote


Phase 2
Install Patch 4. The easiest way to get files into the VM at this point is with an ISO image. Create one using a tool that will allow Rock Ridge extensions with long filenames. 'genisoimage' may be used.
I created a disk using:
genisoimage -o NSOSY2K.iso -hide-rr-moved -max-iso9660-filenames -p itomato -R NSOSY2K/
Add the image to the CDROM device with 'More CD/DVD Images'.
Copy the file from the CDROM to the 'me' directory, or some other location with read/write access.
And extract.
-------------------------------------

You have to be root to install the patch, and so a few things must be done before we actually install.
Launch Preferences.app, and click the padlock icon to set the password for 'me'.
-------------------------------------


Then, head to the Workspace Manager and navigate to NextAdmin, and run User Manager.app to set the password for root.
Select 'User' and select 'root' and enter a password.

Save changes, verify the password, then logout.
-------------------------------------

-------------------------------------

At the login window, enter 'root', and the password you set before.
-------------------------------------

Navigate to 'me', and double-click the installer package for the patch.
-------------------------------------

Let it do its thing you don't need any NeXT or SPARC packages.
When the installation is complete, we'll reboot and perform some configuration to get VESA graphics, etc.
-------------------------------------

Select Power Off from the Workspace Manager menu, and wait for the notification that it's OK to shut down. No power management is working to allow soft reboots, so use host-R, or select 'Reset' from the machine menu.
You can tell the patch is installed by the artifact left with the spinning winchester icon.
-------------------------------------

Login as root again, and run Configure.app from NextAdmin..
Select the Display Device panel, and choose the VESA VBE driver.
-------------------------------------

Double-click the VESA driver if you're display is not highlighting..
Then select a video mode 888/32 is the 32-bit display.
-------------------------------------

Click Done and Save.
Logout and reboot again..
-------------------------------------

Get ready for Phase 3!
_________________
-itomato
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mominul



Joined: 16 Jan 2014
Posts: 87
Location: Bangladesh

PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately,I cannot see the images Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
nextchef



Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 1007
Location: Missouri, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 20, 2014 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like his site has changed or is gone so all the links no longer work.
_________________
Chef
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wizard



Joined: 04 Mar 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can confirm that everything still works with the current (4.3.8 ) virtual box EXCEPT networking, at least I could not get it to work.

[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nuss



Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 40
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Network support is broken for a long time. For me the latest version that worked was 4.1.12.

Here is the bug report: https://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/10545
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
segabor



Joined: 22 Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good news! It looks like it has been fix awhile. I will give try soon but I lost my vbox image so I need to setup a new one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
itomato



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 302
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2016 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Basic networking works in VBox.

PCnet-FAST III attached via NAT and use the same basic config as with Previous:


Quote:
1. Use Simple Network Starter (you find it in the NextAdmin directory)
and set up some values:
a Check "Provide the services specified below."
b Choose a hostname (whatever you want).
c Set IP address to "10.0.2.15".
d Go to "Network Options..." and set
Router to "10.0.2.2"
Broadcast Address to "10.0.2.255"
Netmask to "255.255.255.0" and
NIS Domain Name to "None".
e Hit configure. You will be prompted to connect the Ethernet
cable.
f If not already done, connect emulated Ethernet now using
Previous' GUI and hit OK.

2. Using root access rights open and edit these files:
a /etc/hostconfig and replace "-ROUTER-" with "10.0.2.2".
b /etc/resolv.conf and add "nameserver 10.0.2.3".
If this file does not exist, you have to first create it.
Be sure you create a plain text file. If you use Edit.app
you can do this by selecting Format > Text > Make ASCII.

Howto: Open the above files using root privileges (NeXTstep 3.3):
a Open the /etc directory with this command in Terminal:
"open /etc"
b Select the file/application to open and from Workspace select
Services > Open Sesame > Open As Root.
c For making a new resolv.conf open Edit.app the same way (b)
and in the save dialog type as name "/etc/resolv.conf"

3. Reboot.


These instructions want to use 10.0.2.3 as the nameserver - not sure if that's a typo or what, but I use 10.0.2.2 and 8.8.8.8.


Code:

#
# /etc/hostconfig
#
# This file sets up shell variables used by the various rc scripts to
# configure the host.  Edit this file instead of rc.boot.
#
# Warning:  This is sourced by /bin/sh.  Make sure there are no spaces
#       on either side of the "=".
#
# There are some special keywords used by rc.boot and the programs it
# calls:
#
#   -AUTOMATIC-   Configure automatically
#   -YES-      Turn a feature on
#   -NO-      Leave a feature off or do not configure
#
HOSTNAME=lantern5v
INETADDR=10.0.2.15
ROUTER=10.0.2.2
IPNETMASK=255.255.255.0
IPBROADCAST=10.0.2.255
YPDOMAIN=-NO-
NETMASTER=-YES-
TIME=-AUTOMATIC-


Code:

#/etc/resolv.conf
nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 10.0.2.2


SSH
Install the openssh and related packages from kb7sqi.


    openssh.pkg
    openssl.pkg
    prngd.pkg
    zlib.pkg


Create host key

Code:

ssh-keygen -t rsa -f /usr/local/etc/ssh_host_key


Make the necessary additions to rc.local

Code:

# sshd
if [ -f /usr/local/sbin/prngd ]; then
        echo -n ' prngd' >/dev/console
        /usr/local/sbin/prngd /etc/egd-pool
fi

if [ -f /usr/local/apache/bin/apachectl ]; then
         echo -n ' httpd' >/dev/console
         /usr/local/apache/bin/apachectl start
fi

if [ -f /usr/local/sbin/sshd ]; then
        echo -n ' sshd ' >/dev/console
        /usr/local/sbin/sshd
fi


Reboot


Setup VirtualBox NAT Port Forwarding
To connect to your VBox Guest from the host, you need to set up port forwarding for SSH.

Host IP: 127.0.0.1
Host Port: 2222
Guest IP: 10.0.2.15
Guest Port: 22

You should be able to connect to your Openstep guest with
Code:

 ssh -p 2222 me@127.0.0.1

_________________
-itomato
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dgb75



Joined: 23 Jan 2014
Posts: 14
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:40 pm    Post subject: No Audio Reply with quote

Any idea why I might not be getting sound? I've got everything else up and running. Sound is configured as SoundBlaster 16 PnP. I've tried the 4.00 and 4.02 drivers. I have also tried messing around with IRQ/DMA settings. Finally, I am running the latest version of VirtualBox (5.1.12).

Any ideas/suggestions are appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolli



Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:38 am    Post subject: Re: No Audio Reply with quote

[quote="dgb75"]Any idea why I might not be getting sound? I've got everything else up and running. Sound is configured as SoundBlaster 16 PnP.
[/quote]

I think the sound emulation in VirtualBox is 8bit SB, not SB16.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dgb75



Joined: 23 Jan 2014
Posts: 14
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I worked out that there was a different driver I needed to use which almost works correctly, minus an echo after playing certain sounds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Emulation / Virtualization All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group