NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Bad status detected in sdcmd

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Black Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rey



Joined: 17 Mar 2017
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 12:00 am    Post subject: Bad status detected in sdcmd Reply with quote

Pic taken of a NeXTstation Turbo Color from booting after 17 years in storage

adult image hosting

Cannot boot. Also the hard drive is loud!!

What are my options? Sad

On the bright side my black hardware has video Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andreas



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 353
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can only setup another drive and put that drive in an external case and try to copy all the stuff that is readable from that drive.

BTW, you have a 33MHz station and 100ns RAM - the Turbos can drive 60/70ns RAMs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rey



Joined: 17 Mar 2017
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you Andreas!

So back in 2000 I bought this without a CD-ROM drive and 3.3 was preinstalled.

Now that I need to replace the hard drive, it sounds like I'll need to buy a CD-ROM drive to install 3.3. Perhaps this is my chance to switch to openstep 4.2

Where to buy a NeXT compatible CD-ROM?

Is network install possible?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andreas



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 353
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rey wrote:

Now that I need to replace the hard drive, it sounds like I'll need to buy a CD-ROM drive to install 3.3. Perhaps this is my chance to switch to openstep 4.2
Where to buy a NeXT compatible CD-ROM?

any SCSI CD-ROM should do, you can also try SCSI DVD ROMs
Quote:

Is network install possible?

Yes, but i have never tried that.
BTW, I'm using SCSI2SD adapter for my NeXTs and can backup the SD cards under Windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Black Hardware All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group