NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Rhapsody DR2 365X help

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> White Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hexloo



Joined: 26 Dec 2015
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2018 6:49 pm    Post subject: Rhapsody DR2 365X help Reply with quote

I have a ThinkPad 365X that I have just finished installing Rhapsody on. I'm using a 3C589D for the NIC as according to http://www.rhapsodyos.org/hardware/etherlink/etherlink_1.html but with or without it inserted, the system gets stuck at "Configuring device drivers" at bootup. I selected the proper audio drivers, and selected the 760ED video drivers as said here: http://www.rhapsodyos.org/hardware/laptops/the_list_1.html.
I tried searching but I can't seem to find a solution. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hexloo



Joined: 26 Dec 2015
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's the solution for any 365X/XD owners or just anyone with a Trident Cyber9320 trying to get Rhapsody running:

Use the 760E/ED driver then go to Expert options and change the 9660 part of the PCI ID to 9320. It's working fine for me with color and full res now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 716
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want slightly better hardware support, try the Darwin 0.3 updates, I think the biggest change is that Darwin will address 512MB of ram, unlike stock Rhapsody.

And if you have multiple disks to mess around with, you can dump/restore Darwin+Rhapsody onto a much larger disk.
_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hexloo



Joined: 26 Dec 2015
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

neozeed wrote:
If you want slightly better hardware support, try the Darwin 0.3 updates, I think the biggest change is that Darwin will address 512MB of ram, unlike stock Rhapsody.

And if you have multiple disks to mess around with, you can dump/restore Darwin+Rhapsody onto a much larger disk.


So I should use the toast from the Darwin-0.3/Apple-CDROM directory for this? The link on there now leads to a qcow image, not an iso. Thanks

edit: if I do this, I get mount_cd9660: Invalid argument.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 716
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this one...

https://sourceforge.net/projects/aapl-darwin/files/Revived/darwin01_i386_dump.iso/download


This is the 0.1 version. There isn't too much different on the PC between 0.1 and 0.3 .. but there is a lot of stuff that must have changed regarding dr2 and 0.1
_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hexloo



Joined: 26 Dec 2015
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

neozeed wrote:
Try this one...

https://sourceforge.net/projects/aapl-darwin/files/Revived/darwin01_i386_dump.iso/download


This is the 0.1 version. There isn't too much different on the PC between 0.1 and 0.3 .. but there is a lot of stuff that must have changed regarding dr2 and 0.1

When it gets past the prompt asking for startup options it almost immediately displays this:
Code:

Error occured while linking driver PCMCIABus:
rld(): Undefined symbols:
.objc_class_name_IOPCMCIADeviceDescription
Error linking PCMCIABus device Driver.
Errors encountered while starting up the computer.
Pausing 10 seconds...

Then afterwards goes to the Rhapsody 1.0 screen and hangs on configuring device drivers.

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 716
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hexloo wrote:
neozeed wrote:
Try this one...

https://sourceforge.net/projects/aapl-darwin/files/Revived/darwin01_i386_dump.iso/download


This is the 0.1 version. There isn't too much different on the PC between 0.1 and 0.3 .. but there is a lot of stuff that must have changed regarding dr2 and 0.1

When it gets past the prompt asking for startup options it almost immediately displays this:
Code:

Error occured while linking driver PCMCIABus:
rld(): Undefined symbols:
.objc_class_name_IOPCMCIADeviceDescription
Error linking PCMCIABus device Driver.
Errors encountered while starting up the computer.
Pausing 10 seconds...

Then afterwards goes to the Rhapsody 1.0 screen and hangs on configuring device drivers.

Any ideas?


Oh crap, I completely forgot. The source to the PCMCIA stack was never released, and therefor the link kit to integrate the IOKIT into it just isn't there. I didn't worry about it at the time, as I was just thinking of desktops and anything 'modern' hasn't had PCMCIA in such a long long time.

So this will be useless for you. Crying or Very sad
_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hexloo



Joined: 26 Dec 2015
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

neozeed wrote:
hexloo wrote:
neozeed wrote:
Try this one...

https://sourceforge.net/projects/aapl-darwin/files/Revived/darwin01_i386_dump.iso/download


This is the 0.1 version. There isn't too much different on the PC between 0.1 and 0.3 .. but there is a lot of stuff that must have changed regarding dr2 and 0.1

When it gets past the prompt asking for startup options it almost immediately displays this:
Code:

Error occured while linking driver PCMCIABus:
rld(): Undefined symbols:
.objc_class_name_IOPCMCIADeviceDescription
Error linking PCMCIABus device Driver.
Errors encountered while starting up the computer.
Pausing 10 seconds...

Then afterwards goes to the Rhapsody 1.0 screen and hangs on configuring device drivers.

Any ideas?


Oh crap, I completely forgot. The source to the PCMCIA stack was never released, and therefor the link kit to integrate the IOKIT into it just isn't there. I didn't worry about it at the time, as I was just thinking of desktops and anything 'modern' hasn't had PCMCIA in such a long long time.

So this will be useless for you. Crying or Very sad

Okay, well uh.. is there any way to restore it back easily? It takes hours for a reinstall with how slow the optical drive is in this machine. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 716
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hexloo wrote:
neozeed wrote:
hexloo wrote:
neozeed wrote:
Try this one...

https://sourceforge.net/projects/aapl-darwin/files/Revived/darwin01_i386_dump.iso/download


This is the 0.1 version. There isn't too much different on the PC between 0.1 and 0.3 .. but there is a lot of stuff that must have changed regarding dr2 and 0.1

When it gets past the prompt asking for startup options it almost immediately displays this:
Code:

Error occured while linking driver PCMCIABus:
rld(): Undefined symbols:
.objc_class_name_IOPCMCIADeviceDescription
Error linking PCMCIABus device Driver.
Errors encountered while starting up the computer.
Pausing 10 seconds...

Then afterwards goes to the Rhapsody 1.0 screen and hangs on configuring device drivers.

Any ideas?


Oh crap, I completely forgot. The source to the PCMCIA stack was never released, and therefor the link kit to integrate the IOKIT into it just isn't there. I didn't worry about it at the time, as I was just thinking of desktops and anything 'modern' hasn't had PCMCIA in such a long long time.

So this will be useless for you. Crying or Very sad

Okay, well uh.. is there any way to restore it back easily? It takes hours for a reinstall with how slow the optical drive is in this machine. Thanks


Ugh I'd think booting single user mode from the installer you ought to be able to copy in the old mach_kernel, although I'm not sure how it'll react to the different drivers.... Otherwise, yeah it'll be a re-install Sad
_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> White Hardware All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group