NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Running Previous 2.0 w/ NS3.3 - trying to get networking up
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Emulation / Virtualization
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
blakespot



Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 67
Location: Alexandria, VA (USA)

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wait, I don't need to explicitly run SLiRP under Windows right? It's rolled into Previous, ya? Is that my problem?
_________________
:::My NeXTs:
- NeXTstation Turbo Color w/ 21" NeXT CRT (NS3.3)
- HP 712/100 "Gecko" (NS3.3)
http://bytecellar.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
eagle



Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 458

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

blakespot wrote:
I just couldn't find Previous 2.x on macOS. Do you happen to know where it can be had, precompiled? Thanks.

Hey Blake - it is available on my Previous site - http://previous.unixdude.net/download.html
_________________
My NeXTs:
NeXT Computer prototype (68030-25 x2, 68040-25)
Two NeXTstations (68040-25)
All mono
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakespot



Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 67
Location: Alexandria, VA (USA)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eagle wrote:
blakespot wrote:
I just couldn't find Previous 2.x on macOS. Do you happen to know where it can be had, precompiled? Thanks.

Hey Blake - it is available on my Previous site - http://previous.unixdude.net/download.html

Thank you! And networking works for me under OS X. Not sure why Windows 10 setup didn't work as far as networking.


Logging into Level 29 BBS on an original NeXT computer (...emulated via Previous 2.0) by Blake Patterson, on Flickr

Cheers.
_________________
:::My NeXTs:
- NeXTstation Turbo Color w/ 21" NeXT CRT (NS3.3)
- HP 712/100 "Gecko" (NS3.3)
http://bytecellar.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
eagle



Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 458

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I generally use NFS or an ISO disk image to transfer files. A while ago, some NFS activity would cause Previous to crash but I have not tried it lately.
_________________
My NeXTs:
NeXT Computer prototype (68030-25 x2, 68040-25)
Two NeXTstations (68040-25)
All mono
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paolo.bertolo



Joined: 24 Sep 2015
Posts: 64
Location: St Gallen, Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2018 3:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Exactly the same situation, but this time with Previous 2.1 + NS3.3 on MacOS (tried on two different machines with different OS). Checked all I could, apparently everything is fine, consistent with what the real NeXT machines are reading (bar for the addresses, of course), but still no way to get networking up and running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paolo.bertolo



Joined: 24 Sep 2015
Posts: 64
Location: St Gallen, Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried to run the whole thing all over again, but networking still does not fully work. E.g. if I ping www.apple.com, the address is resolved but all packets are lost.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
multi



Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

paolo.bertolo wrote:
Tried to run the whole thing all over again, but networking still does not fully work. E.g. if I ping www.apple.com, the address is resolved but all packets are lost.


what's your gateway address? do a netstat -rn and look for a 'default' or a '0.0.0.0' (sorry, dont have a NS/OS box handy to tell you exactly what to look for). Or just post the whole output here.

The gateway would need to be local (same network).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paolo.bertolo



Joined: 24 Sep 2015
Posts: 64
Location: St Gallen, Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Previous stuff (NeXTComputer - NeXTStep 3.3)

previous: 1# netstat -rn
Routing tables
Destination Gateway Flags Refs Use Interface
127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 UH 2 282 lo0
default 10.0.2.2 UG 0 0 en0
10.2.2 10.0.2.15 U 4 755 en0
previous: 2#



The real thing (NeXTComputer - NeXTStep 3.3)

nextcomputer:6# netstat -rn
Routing tables
Destination Gateway Flags Refs Use Interface
127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 UH 2 300 lo0
default 192.168.88.1 UG 0 4 en0
192.168.88 192.168.88.55 U 4 1207 en0
nextcomputer:7#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Emulation / Virtualization All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group