NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Default paths OS X 10.3 & 10.4

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Apple Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
brams



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 511
Location: Blackburn, England

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:44 pm    Post subject: Default paths OS X 10.3 & 10.4 Reply with quote

I remember seeing somewhere how to change the paths for the defualt folders in OS X, for example change where the Applications Folder is by default, I know you can just drag and drop it where you want but that is not the same thing.

I'm going to be putting Rhapsody 5.6 onto my Wallstreet using an MCE Xcaret bay HD. Using the internal drive for Jaguar or Tiger, if it'll dual boot and play nice with Rhapsody that is.

As OS X wants to live within the first 7.45gb of the HD I figured I put the nuts 'n bolts in there and move Applications & Users out onto another partition (20gb). I had a mooch today on the 'net but could not find anything, can anybody give me any pointers?

Cheers
brams
_________________
NeXTcube Turbo Dimension, NeXTstation Turbo Color, MP2100, Q840av, Q650, WS G4 500, Pismo G4 550, SGI Octane R12K MXE, BeBox 133.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
nextchef



Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 1007
Location: Missouri, USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:09 pm    Post subject: Re: Default paths OS X 10.3 & 10.4 Reply with quote

brams wrote:
I remember seeing somewhere how to change the paths for the defualt folders in OS X, for example change where the Applications Folder is by default, I know you can just drag and drop it where you want but that is not the same thing.

I'm going to be putting Rhapsody 5.6 onto my Wallstreet using an MCE Xcaret bay HD. Using the internal drive for Jaguar or Tiger, if it'll dual boot and play nice with Rhapsody that is.

As OS X wants to live within the first 7.45gb of the HD I figured I put the nuts 'n bolts in there and move Applications & Users out onto another partition (20gb). I had a mooch today on the 'net but could not find anything, can anybody give me any pointers?

Cheers
brams


I thought RacerX had said before that Rhapsody can only be installed on the internal drive on a Wallstreet, not on one in an expansion bay. That was my original plan for my Wallstreet, but decided to just blow away the system on it when I could not install it on an expansion hd.

Chef
_________________
Chef
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StainlessSteelRat



Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try moving the stuff you want to move over to the other partition, then create symbolic links to the new directories under the previous locations. wouldn't try to move anything that's critical to booting this way, and you may have to make sure the partitions are mounted at boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brams



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 511
Location: Blackburn, England

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 2:43 am    Post subject: Re: Default paths OS X 10.3 & 10.4 Reply with quote

nextchef wrote:
I thought RacerX had said before that Rhapsody can only be installed on the internal drive on a Wallstreet, not on one in an expansion bay. That was my original plan for my Wallstreet, but decided to just blow away the system on it when I could not install it on an expansion hd.

Chef


Your talking about the thread here?

I re-read it and could not see that he said it would not work on a bay HD.

For the most part it makes no difference, this Wallstreet is going to be messed about with so much, part of the reason I got the bay HD is so I can back stuff up to it, AFAIK you can have the bay HD and CD ROM in at the same same as both bays are media bays on a Wallstreet unlike a Pismo or Lombard which just had one media/battery and one battery, so hopefully I should be able to put somthing on the bay HD, maybe put OS X on that and it might not have the same problem of the 8gb partiion limit. Not sure here but I'm assuming the Xcaret has it's own ATA controller?.

BTW does anybody know what happend to the Firewire networking developer stack for Panther the allowed TCP/IP over Firewire?, if so does anybody know if that works with a Cardbus Fireware card (3 port Adaptec)
_________________
NeXTcube Turbo Dimension, NeXTstation Turbo Color, MP2100, Q840av, Q650, WS G4 500, Pismo G4 550, SGI Octane R12K MXE, BeBox 133.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
RacerX



Joined: 03 Jan 2006
Posts: 333
Location: Twin Cities, MN

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My understanding of how the Wallstreets (and other PowerBook G3s) are laid out is that (like the Beige G3s) there are two ATA buses. One on which the internal hard drive is the master and another where the CD-ROM bay is the master. Well, no matter how you spin it, the battery bay ends up being a slave drive, which makes it incompatible with booting Rhapsody (or Mac OS X as I recall).

If you aren't going to run Rhapsody on the internal hard drive, but still want to run Rhapsody on a Wallstreet, there is the SCSI bus... and you can boot a Wallstreet from an external SCSI drive. It may not be the prettiest solution, but it is a solution.

On the other hand, if you put the expansion bay drive in the CD-ROM bay, then you could use it... but you'd have to install Rhapsody from an external SCSI CD-ROM drive (and that would be the only CD-ROM access Rhapsody would have).

Rhapsody has to be on the master drive of an ATA bus (and there are only two of them on a Wallstreet).

brams wrote:
Not sure here but I'm assuming the Xcaret has it's own ATA controller?

It simply converts the hard drive's interface to that of the bay, and not much else.



As for moving things to other places in Mac OS X, things like iTunes will let you select where your music library will be located. On my Wallstreet I have it on the second partition of my main drive (which is 29 GB). I keep aliases of my projects folder on my desktop, but the projects folder itself is on that second partition. For Photoshop I set the scratch disk to use the expansion bay drive first (which is 20 GB) and the second partition of the main drive second.

As my other main system is a Beige G3, I have to do pretty much the same types of stuff there too (the main drive is an 80 GB drive divided up into three partitions of roughly 8 GB, 50 GB and 20 GB).
_________________
Rhapsody Resource Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Nadav35



Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2008 8:28 pm    Post subject: Mac OS X Server 1.2v3 Reply with quote

Hi again,

As you know I am in need of this Mac OS X Server 1.2v3. If I gave you $100 dollars for a license, could you provide me with a copy of this? I would only use it for my own personal use on my Power Mac G4 Sawtooth model, though I might try to tinker with it to work on the MDD 2003 G4 I have.

Thanks,



brams wrote:
I remember seeing somewhere how to change the paths for the defualt folders in OS X, for example change where the Applications Folder is by default, I know you can just drag and drop it where you want but that is not the same thing.

I'm going to be putting Rhapsody 5.6 onto my Wallstreet using an MCE Xcaret bay HD. Using the internal drive for Jaguar or Tiger, if it'll dual boot and play nice with Rhapsody that is.

As OS X wants to live within the first 7.45gb of the HD I figured I put the nuts 'n bolts in there and move Applications & Users out onto another partition (20gb). I had a mooch today on the 'net but could not find anything, can anybody give me any pointers?

Cheers
brams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Apple Software All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group