NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Booting NS3.3 installer from CD

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Black Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
leitec



Joined: 27 Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:27 am    Post subject: Booting NS3.3 installer from CD Reply with quote

Hi-

I have a NeXTstation Turbo mono running NS2.2. I just recently got a keyboard for it after it'd been lying around for two years or so after I got it, so I'm actually just glad it works. I upgraded the RAM to 128mb and have a spare 2gb SCSI disk, so what I'd like to do is install NS3.3.

I tried to boot what I admit is a questionable NS3.3 CD I burned using two different drives I borrowed from two PowerMacs. I actually unplugged the HD first and plugged the CD drive in to test it before digging out an external enclosure, and it doesn't boot. When I try to boot, I just get

sc: Didn't complete

repeatedly. The CD does spin in one of the drives when I try to boot, so I'm assuming it's either the questionable CD, or a SCSI issue. The CD doesn't seem to contain an ISO filesystem--is it supposed to? In any case, does anyone have any ideas as to what could be wrong?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slomacuser



Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 220
Location: Slovenia, EU

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you make some screenshots of 2.2!
I think that the screenshots of less than 3.0, do not exist, or ...?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nextchef



Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 1016
Location: Missouri, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

slomacuser wrote:
can you make some screenshots of 2.2!
I think that the screenshots of less than 3.0, do not exist, or ...?


Better yet, can you clone the drive using disk builder, dump/restore, or even dd so others can have it to play with. The drive is probably small enough that the image would fit on a cd.

Chef
_________________
Chef
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
korneluk



Joined: 28 Apr 2006
Posts: 131
Location: Florida, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have MO releases of 0.8, 0.9, 1.0, and 1.0a. Anybody have a working MO drive so I can transfer these to CD?

-- josť k.

nextchef wrote:
slomacuser wrote:
can you make some screenshots of 2.2!
I think that the screenshots of less than 3.0, do not exist, or ...?


Better yet, can you clone the drive using disk builder, dump/restore, or even dd so others can have it to play with. The drive is probably small enough that the image would fit on a cd.

Chef
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leitec



Joined: 27 Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have a mouse yet, so doing anything on the system beyond single-user mode is a bit difficult. I have to clean up a lot of stuff that's on there (from my former university) before I can think of distributing an image. But, I'll definitely take this into consideration, and am planning on installing 3.3 onto another drive so as to not harm the 2.2 install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Black Hardware All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group