NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Web Browser?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Black Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
yzoer



Joined: 18 Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Location: Seattle,WA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:35 am    Post subject: Web Browser? Reply with quote

Hi All,

So I'm curious.. When y'all are posting here, anyone use their NextStation? I'm guessing not as this is using php.. Or is there a browser out there that supports php?

Couldn't find firefox... ( I know, I know )


Yvo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
helf



Joined: 29 Dec 2005
Posts: 1097
Location: Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

'eh, wether or not the page is in php doesnt really matter, all te hscripting is done server side as far as i know. I've used the latest rleease of omniweb that works on nextstep 3.3 on my next to view and post here. works fine.
_________________
*INACTIVE*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
yzoer



Joined: 18 Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Location: Seattle,WA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

helf wrote:
'eh, wether or not the page is in php doesnt really matter, all te hscripting is done server side as far as i know. I've used the latest rleease of omniweb that works on nextstep 3.3 on my next to view and post here. works fine.


Yes, I'm on crack. I meant JavaScript. php good, JavaScript bad?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
helf



Joined: 29 Dec 2005
Posts: 1097
Location: Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, js isnt supported beyond maybe a basic level on any of the NeXT browsers. I *think*. not real sure about that.

but thats ok, you can just run firefox via an X11 remote session on the next from a more powerful box Razz
_________________
*INACTIVE*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
nextchef



Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 1016
Location: Missouri, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

helf wrote:
but thats ok, you can just run firefox via an X11 remote session on the next from a more powerful box Razz


Now that is a tutorial I would like to see someone write up and post on the forums here, as I would love to run apps on my NeXTstation from my linux box.

Chef
_________________
Chef
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
helf



Joined: 29 Dec 2005
Posts: 1097
Location: Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as soon as I get my NeXT back up (currently cleaning and rearranging bedroom) I'll load up debian on my pc and remember how to do all that and then write the directions up. It's not too hard. I just haven't done it in awhile..
_________________
*INACTIVE*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
da9000



Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 387
Location: Silicon Valley

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

helf wrote:
Yeah, js isnt supported beyond maybe a basic level on any of the NeXT browsers. I *think*. not real sure about that.

but thats ok, you can just run firefox via an X11 remote session on the next from a more powerful box Razz


What helf says is right. I'm not sure if old Mosaic had any JS support or if there ever was a Netscape release for NeXTSTEP, but perhaps there's a browser with some minimal JS support. Anyone?

As for the "modern method", it's as helf says: via X11. And it's rather simple. Here's a mini-tutorial:

Assuming you have a Linux box (IP: 192.168.0.2) and a NeXT box (IP:192.168.0.3) and you've setup an X11 server on your NeXT box (Cub'X, XneXT, etc), what you need to do (if my memory hasn't failed) is:

1) type the following on your NeXT box (to allow all incoming connections):
xhost +

2) then telnet/ssh into you Linux boxen and type the following:
(if you have csh)
setenv DISPLAY 192.168.0.3:0.0

(or if you have bash)
export DISPLAY=192.168.0.3:0.0

3) and then run any X11 app you want (I like to test first):
/usr/X11R6/bin/xeyes
or simply type the following and if your paths are setup it'll show up:
xclock

4) now run your browser :)


Here are a couple related links:
http://www.nextcomputers.org/forums/viewtopic.php?p=5420
http://ask.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=01/05/30/2130217
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
helf



Joined: 29 Dec 2005
Posts: 1097
Location: Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aha, yeah, I thought I remembered it being easy to do.

I need to set that up on my machines at home
_________________
*INACTIVE*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
da9000



Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 387
Location: Silicon Valley

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

helf wrote:
aha, yeah, I thought I remembered it being easy to do.

I need to set that up on my machines at home


First you have to clean that room Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Black Hardware All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group