NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
NeXTdimension 13w3 cable

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> NeXTdimension Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
brams



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 511
Location: Blackburn, England

PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 8:12 am    Post subject: NeXTdimension 13w3 cable Reply with quote

Is there anything special about this cable does it pass any other signals except for video (I'm thinking about the brightness controls on the keyboard here).

Mines a bit dodgy and I was wondering if I could use an SGI one, as they are plentiful, I have one I can try off my Octane but I'd rather not fry anything.
_________________
NeXTcube Turbo Dimension, NeXTstation Turbo Color, MP2100, Q840av, Q650, WS G4 500, Pismo G4 550, SGI Octane R12K MXE, BeBox 133.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Drewmeister



Joined: 25 Mar 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 1:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's just a standard 13W3 cable; in fact it doesn't use any of the other pins besides the three video mini-coax, since it uses Sync-on-Green.

The keyboard plugs into either a sound box or a mono monitor, and doesn't come anywhere near the Dimension board. Unlike on the color slabs, you don't need a Y-cable for the sound box on a Cube -- use a normal mono video cable from the Cube motherboard to the sound box, and a 13W3 cable from the Dimension to the color monitor.

The brightness control is done in software (although the color monitors do have brightness and contrast knobs on them too); the only "special" key on the keyboard is the Power key, which has its own pin in the connector. All other keys are handled normally by the keyboard controller.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brams



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 511
Location: Blackburn, England

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi thanks

So basically if I plug my SGI 13w3 into the cube and then into the montor I ain't going to fry the dimension, thats cool, I could'nt see that it would but I thought caution was best as dimensions cost quite a bit over here.

If nothing goes on inside the monitor except it displays a picture and brightness is done in SW, then why are there ADB and Non ADB version of the color monitors?

Cheers
Michael Bramley
_________________
NeXTcube Turbo Dimension, NeXTstation Turbo Color, MP2100, Q840av, Q650, WS G4 500, Pismo G4 550, SGI Octane R12K MXE, BeBox 133.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Drewmeister



Joined: 25 Mar 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2006 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe the ADB monitors just supported a higher refresh rate -- 72Hz vs. 68Hz. Obviously the mono monitors also had different versions of the audio and keyboard/mouse functionality, as did the sound boxes, and the sound box cable, and of course the keyboard and mouse.

IIRC, the NeXT Dimension 13W3 cable does not have any other pins besides the three mini-coax (I'd have to go bug my father to find out for sure, but regardless of whether they are present in the cable, they are not used for the video signal), so if you are super-paranoid you could break off the 10 little pins on the NeXT end of your 13W3 cable. It's probably not necessary though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brams



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 511
Location: Blackburn, England

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Drewmeister wrote:
I believe the ADB monitors just supported a higher refresh rate -- 72Hz vs. 68Hz. Obviously the mono monitors also had different versions of the audio and keyboard/mouse functionality, as did the sound boxes, and the sound box cable, and of course the keyboard and mouse.


I have a 21" Hitachi/NeXT and it seems to work fine with both my Turbo Color Slab (72hz AFAIK) and the Dimension which is 68hz, why did they change the monitor, from what I read, old and new monitors alike are able to sync to 68 or 72hz with no problems.

AFAIK, only Turbo Color Slabs where 72hz anyway, is that correct?
_________________
NeXTcube Turbo Dimension, NeXTstation Turbo Color, MP2100, Q840av, Q650, WS G4 500, Pismo G4 550, SGI Octane R12K MXE, BeBox 133.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> NeXTdimension Board All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group