NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org

Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Mac OS Server 1.2 on an eMac?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
roo

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 1:56 pm    Post subject: Mac OS Server 1.2 on an eMac? Reply with quote

Hello all,

I'm a newbie on these forums - my name's Roo and I'm in the UK.

I have a Server 1.2 disc that I bought on eBay years ago which I used to run on an AGP PowerMac G4 I had at the time.

Having checked rhapsodyos.org and Apple's Server 1.2 system requirements I figured I could get an eMac and dual boot it with Server 1.2 and Tiger (and maybe some other OSes too).

However, when I try and boot form the Server 1.2 CD I get a bomb with "unimplemented trap" as it tries to load OS 9.

Does anyone have any ideas? Has anyone successfully installed 1.2 on an eMac and if so, how? Is Apple's page wrong and I actually need 1.2v3?

What's also rather odd is that id doesn't want to boot into Mac OS 9.2.2 that's already on the hard drive - I get a flashing question mark over a floppy icon.

It's also spitting out DVDs from the combo drive (e.g. the Panther-based CD from my 12" PowerBook, and a Leopard disc from my Mac mini).

I did read somewhere that to boot from CD the combo drive needs to be slave or master and not cable-select, so perhaps this is it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Roo
RacerX

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, one has to remember that originally eMacs were sold exclusively to the education market... and it was those early eMacs that Apple extended support to for Mac OS X Server 1.2 and 1.2v3 (mainly for using them as NetBoot servers in classrooms). Those systems generally shipped with CD-ROM drives.

If your system isn't booting into Mac OS 9, then you might have one of the later Mac OS X only models.