NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Quake 1
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Porting New Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Are you interested in Quake on NeXTSTEP?
YES!
86%
 86%  [ 37 ]
I don't care.
13%
 13%  [ 6 ]
Total Votes : 43

Author Message
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 687
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 6:36 pm    Post subject: Quake 1 Reply with quote

Well I've made some major progress smoothing out my port of Quake 1 based on some parts of Quake2 for rhapsody, the SDL port of Quake, and UAE for NeXTSTEP....

It's approaching usability, with some keymapping issues... I haven't tackled the networking or sound just yet, but it loads up, and you can walk around levels.... I guess I'll have to add the mouse code later as well...

Currently I've only been building this for the i386 as my monitor on my m68k finally died...

But if anyone is interested, I can share the source & binaries along with the demo data files... I think it's all 7mb or so.

I get some easy 20FPS under Qemu... so it's almost playable...
_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 687
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 12:32 am    Post subject: ... Reply with quote

I got the keyboard working way better now, and networking is going...! I connected to a windows server I have and it actually worked!...

As for the sound, I though the driver was more fleshed out but it's not... Although I've got to go through it some more and see if it's mixing and collecting the audio data... It needed all the 'right' bits so I'm almost assuming that all I may have to do is setup some next audio interface and start handing it buffers to play..........

The only thing I don't get is the startup, and it's me copying other peoples code (uae) and trying to hammer it into the way I want.. you have to click in the window a few times for it to get the correct keyboard focus... it also means that startup scripts are basically hosed..

If anyone wants to test, send me a PM and I'll send you the exe & source..
_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 687
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 3:20 pm    Post subject: package! Reply with quote

I've built a package, thanks to the instructions on this site... http://www.bangmoney.org/nextstep/packages_1.html

You can download it here:
http://vpsland.superglobalmegacorp.com/install/NeXTSTEP/quake-1.09-NIHS.tar.gz

You have to launch this from the command line....



Also in the mean time I'll leave the dedicated server running on my server, connect to it by ip address, as the name is too long for quake to handle...

75.127.119.16

remember you'll have to click in the window a few times to get it going and for the keyboard handler to start working....[img][/img]
_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>


Last edited by neozeed on Sun May 23, 2010 1:52 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pan1k



Joined: 17 May 2007
Posts: 91
Location: Los Angeles, CA

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2010 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll have to build a x86 box this summer.. just to play this!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 687
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2010 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pan1k wrote:
I'll have to build a x86 box this summer.. just to play this!


Display postscript isn't exactly highspeed... so be sure to get at least a p4 and some kind of pci or agp card...
_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pentium



Joined: 23 Jun 2006
Posts: 1146
Location: Kamloops, BC

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First it was Doom, and now we have Quake! Very Happy
I'm going to be all over this.
_________________

-NeXT 68040 Cube with NS 3.3 and 64Mb ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
helf



Joined: 29 Dec 2005
Posts: 1097
Location: Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

omg this is too awesome!


aaaugh. Must get another NeXT soon.
_________________
*INACTIVE*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 687
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

helf wrote:
omg this is too awesome!


aaaugh. Must get another NeXT soon.


I seriously doubt it'll run any better then a slide show on a m68k machine... I launched it as a server and it was timing out like crazy.... Neutral
_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
GrafZahl



Joined: 12 Sep 2010
Posts: 25
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 10:28 am    Post subject: Quake Reply with quote

Thanks a lot for the port. Just tried quake on my color turbo and my color station (with the same hard drive and openstep 4.2 ). Had to use the command line option -nolan otherwise it ends complaining bus error. It was even slower than "expected". I tested "timedemo demo1" from the in game console to get some benchmark. The turbo got 543.2 seconds > 1.8 frames, and the color station 627,8 seconds > 1.5 frames. A few years ago I had the game on an 68040/40 MHz amiga and it was "faster" this may have been highly optimized 68k code in this port, and estimated 5 frames there. The color did look odd though could this be a byte-order thing, or is the display postscript differing that bad? Taking the screenshot using grab shows some alpha on the monitor it was not white but dark there could this impact performance?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 687
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 10:37 am    Post subject: Re: Quake Reply with quote

GrafZahl wrote:
Thanks a lot for the port. Just tried quake on my color turbo and my color station (with the same hard drive and openstep 4.2 ). Had to use the command line option -nolan otherwise it ends complaining bus error. It was even slower than "expected". I tested "timedemo demo1" from the in game console to get some benchmark. The turbo got 543.2 seconds > 1.8 frames, and the color station 627,8 seconds > 1.5 frames. A few years ago I had the game on an 68040/40 MHz amiga and it was "faster" this may have been highly optimized 68k code in this port, and estimated 5 frames there. The color did look odd though could this be a byte-order thing, or is the display postscript differing that bad? Taking the screenshot using grab shows some alpha on the monitor it was not white but dark there could this impact performance?


I think that is why I kind of gave this thing up as you need a 2Ghz machine to push ~20fps ... Now it could be a matter of display postscript not geared towards games, and I'm sure I'm doing stuff wrong as I lifted the nextstep glue code from all over the place, mostly UAE...

Recently I did come across the stolen quake source (before the GPL) and it does have more platform code for nextstep, so perhaps that'd help. I would imagine much like the i386 assembly code, if someone were to port that to the 68030 itd help a GREAT deal. I would imagine that the Amiga people would have done so... Now if there is an Amiga source dump of quake I can certainly look at it, although I don't have any m68k gear to test on...

I just fear that display postscript could be the killer leaving there to be no real alternative... but its good to know it ran on someone elses machine!
_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
armus2112



Joined: 26 Sep 2008
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2014 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here's a copy of the quake pkg

http://home.comcast.net/~currygoat101/OpenStep/quake-1.09-NIHS.tar.gz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 687
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2014 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not that it matters but it's still on my site. Because of some 'anti virus' moron I had to force every download I have to a 404 page, although if you read it you can click a link on the 404 and login with the user/password on the 404 page, and download the package. (the password changes often).

I don't like i had to do this, but this moron sent threatening letters to the data centre I was hosted in, and which they demanded my machine to be formatted, and possible law enforcement to take action against me for hosting nethack (yes the game nethack).

The whole thing was incredibly stupifying.
_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
armus2112



Joined: 26 Sep 2008
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2014 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smile cool and thanks for the port!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 687
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2014 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem!

I'm glad that someone at least still uses it!
_________________
# include <wittycomment.h>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nuss



Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 40
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 4:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is really great Smile
Thanks neozeed!
And also thanks armus2112 for bringing to my attention.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Porting New Software All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group