NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
What Needs to be done for a NeXT Emulator
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 77, 78, 79  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Emulation / Virtualization
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cuby



Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 164
Location: Coburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gilles wrote:

r A7=$0B03F7C4
r PC=$01004956

(it bypasses a test in ROM)


Do you know at which test the ROM actually hangs - is this the RTC you mention in this thread? The code address where the ROM hangs seems to be 0x1002556...

Quote:
There is probably a ROM checksum, so cannot patch binary for now...


There is a checksum, described here:

http://nextcomputers.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=11&highlight=checksum

However, this only seems to protect the first 22 bytes of the ROM containing the MAC address. So maybe there is still another checksum hidden somewhere?

But, of course, properly emulation the device in question (at least as far as the test is concerned) would be the better approach...

-- Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cuby



Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 164
Location: Coburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Soo, I did a lot of disassembling and a little experiment.

The code where the ROM hangs (and where we have to adjust SP and PC to continue) is a function that blinks the error LED (verified on a NeXT here, bit 0 in SCR2 controls it). It's an endless loop (function begins at 0x0100253a, jmp instruction at 0x0100258e jumps back to the beginning and no instruction leaves this loop. No wonder we can't continue from there Smile.

So, something must fail before. Perhaps some kind of platform/hardware test? (CPU type, frequency, memory... whatever)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jvernet



Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gilles wrote:
in configuration.c file:
ConfigureParams.Shortcut.withModifier[SHORTCUT_DEBUG] = SDLK_PAUSE;

change to another key more macosX friendly... (PAUSE/F16 seems problematic)


That's what I did. Doesn't work Twisted Evil. There is some test hardcoded elsewhere.
So, I will add to the MacOsX GUI a DebugUI() menuitem. Work fine in Hatari.
_________________
--
Apple & NeXT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
gilles



Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cuby wrote:
Soo, I did a lot of disassembling and a little experiment.

The code where the ROM hangs (and where we have to adjust SP and PC to continue) is a function that blinks the error LED (verified on a NeXT here, bit 0 in SCR2 controls it). It's an endless loop (function begins at 0x0100253a, jmp instruction at 0x0100258e jumps back to the beginning and no instruction leaves this loop. No wonder we can't continue from there Smile.

So, something must fail before. Perhaps some kind of platform/hardware test? (CPU type, frequency, memory... whatever)


I added SCR1 support with fixed values from jvernet machine. Now the machine is detected as a next station and hangs... somewhere else Smile
Can someone give me good values of SCR1 for a 8mb mono 25MHz?

I also added RTC access support, I see that ROM reads the 32 registers (00 to 1F). Tries to set register 0 (0x80) . Read register 0 again and hangs. It may be normal since I do not store values in RTC RAM.

The version of the rom I used for tests is v66.

@jerome, maybe the hatari configuration file is used and bypasses the default configuration, try to rename hatari.cfg/previous.cfg files.

[edit]
also, for checksum... things may be a bit more complex than this expected, It seems that a part of the EPROM is overlaid by RAM.
According to netBSD includes, LSB of SCR2 is the flag for overlay (since netbsd does not use this flag, I suppose they add access to next hardware documents Smile )
_________________
http://previous.alternative-system.com
http://www.alternative-system.com/?lang=EN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
gilles



Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it was RTC ram registers Smile
now it does not need the patch anymore...
but I need to add RTC_STATUS support I think.
_________________
http://previous.alternative-system.com
http://www.alternative-system.com/?lang=EN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
gilles



Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

updated svn (Rev 6), now go to Testing screen without dead loop error (& flashing LED).
_________________
http://previous.alternative-system.com
http://www.alternative-system.com/?lang=EN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ebann



Joined: 05 Sep 2010
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You guys rock! I would love to help but emulation/virtualization is not my thing... biggest thing I ever tackled was writing a C to Sparc assembly compiler. Where would one find a simple emulation tutorial... a 6502 CPU would rock as I grew up with that Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jvernet



Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Working!

Playing with SCR1 (change SR1 Read2 value from &h5F to &h2F, for example, and the Testing Windows show a Cube. 1F show a Slab, 03F hang Previous (goes to debuger), etc...
_________________
--
Apple & NeXT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
cuby



Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 164
Location: Coburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ebann wrote:
a 6502 CPU would rock as I grew up with that Smile


Hehe, then you should take a look at this: http://www.visual6502.org/JSSim/index.html - 6502 CPU emulation at transistor level. Extremely cool IMHO!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gilles



Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

great simulator Smile
cannot try because it crashes my browser but seems real impressive.
_________________
http://previous.alternative-system.com
http://www.alternative-system.com/?lang=EN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ebann



Joined: 05 Sep 2010
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cuby wrote:
ebann wrote:
a 6502 CPU would rock as I grew up with that Smile


Hehe, then you should take a look at this: http://www.visual6502.org/JSSim/index.html - 6502 CPU emulation at transistor level. Extremely cool IMHO!


You guys must be EE majors to be enjoying this kind of crazy stuff! Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gilles



Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

to be precise : http://www.diic.fr/jahia/Jahia/pid/340
but it was 15 years ago Smile
problem is that in France, you will probably not find a job directly related to such studies... well, business data processing is not that bad... & it pays your bills...
_________________
http://previous.alternative-system.com
http://www.alternative-system.com/?lang=EN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jvernet



Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gilles wrote:
to be precise : http://www.diic.fr/jahia/Jahia/pid/340
but it was 15 years ago Smile
problem is that in France, you will probably not find a job directly related to such studies... well, business data processing is not that bad... & it pays your bills...


Wink

Back to Previous. Embarassed

How can we read values inside the NSLab Clock Chip (let's call it NVRAM, it store what you can define in the ROM Monitor).

And what are the meaning of these values ? They are important in the test boot phase... Among other things that Gilles need.
_________________
--
Apple & NeXT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
itomato



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 302
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow - this is very cool!

I'm incredibly impressed at the rate of progress! Go, Gilles!! Surprised
_________________
-itomato
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gilles



Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

most of the progress is in fact from UAE team for much better support of 68040.
_________________
http://previous.alternative-system.com
http://www.alternative-system.com/?lang=EN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Emulation / Virtualization All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 77, 78, 79  Next
Page 3 of 79

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group