NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Dimension technical questions

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> NeXTdimension Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Luca



Joined: 04 Aug 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 6:58 am    Post subject: Dimension technical questions Reply with quote

Good morning all,
I recently bought a Dimension Board from eBay, unfortunately I don't have a monitor connection cable and a suitable monitor at the moment, so I can't test if it's in working conditions or not.
The seller told me that the Board was carefully removed from a working cube, but I have two questions that arise looking at the board:

1 photo) http://www.flickr.com/photos/87616068@N04/8252319051/in/photostream/
the 12 connection near the memory slots appears to be damaged with no more tin on them. The 12 on the other side of the board looks good instead.
What's the function of these connections ? can in your opinion the board works well in this condition ?

2 photo) http://www.flickr.com/photos/87616068@N04/8253937611/in/photostream/
the board has 4 memory full slots and 4 empty slots. Can it work like that ? How many memory has it ?

Thank you
Luca.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jroark



Joined: 17 Feb 2012
Posts: 75
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Those connections aren't used for anything (testing maybe?).

Yes it will work fine with only 4 of the 8 ram slots filled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Luca



Joined: 04 Aug 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you Jroark,
somebody else has the connection like shown in the picture and can confirm that ?
How much RAM should my Dimension Board has with that four ram slots filled ?

Thank you!
Luca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jroark



Joined: 17 Feb 2012
Posts: 75
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Depends on the ram, could be 4mb, 8mb, 16mb, or 32mb.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Andreas



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 349
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jroark wrote:
Depends on the ram, could be 4mb, 8mb, 16mb, or 32mb.


You can use undocumented 8MB sticks with an total of 64MB for the dimension.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jroark



Joined: 17 Feb 2012
Posts: 75
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andreas wrote:
jroark wrote:
Depends on the ram, could be 4mb, 8mb, 16mb, or 32mb.


You can use undocumented 8MB sticks with an total of 64MB for the dimension.


Right, but he only has 4 slots populated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> NeXTdimension Board All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group