NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org

Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
NeXT Pyro and Nitro Boards FOR SALE
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Classic Computer Marketplace
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Loewe1

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 7:35 am    Post subject: NeXT Pyro and Nitro Boards FOR SALE Reply with quote

I am selling most of my NeXT collection and some of the standard items are already listed.

I have two Pyro and two Nitro boards.

There are some comments later in this post from Mr. Rob Blessin at Blackhole Inc and so please read these.

I believe it would help if I gave some background information about the Pyro and Nitro boards.

I worked as an Apple Developer from 1984/85 and a joint Apple / NeXT Developer from 1990: I leased NeXT equipment in the early days because of the high cost of the equipment but I started to buy systems outright courtesy of a NeXT discount. I also received hardware and software from NeXT for assessment and development. I received two Pyro boards from NeXT but one of these developed a fault and caused a meltdown of the NeXT motherboard. I went through 5 replacement NeXT 256mb MO drives at the same time (and ultimately ceased to use them because of poor reliability). I purchased my first Pyro board from OpenSource Inc and the second one came via Dancing Bearing Enterprises in Hawaii. I knew of developers who had Nitro boards but I was not able to acquire one from any of the sources I knew in the mid-1990's. I came across Nitro boards by pure chance as I was trying to purchase a replacement NeXT Colour printer in 1998/1999. I had 4 printers from new but all had developed the common 'paper jam' fault. I was referred to ICL Sorbus in the UK who sent me a price list for their stock. This was in the summer of 1999. ICL Sorbus had a large stock of new / old stock NeXT equipment. I am assuming they purchased the inventory from Ne