NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org

Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Install problems - OS4.2, VMWare and Windows
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Emulation / Virtualization
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Paul Richards

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 6:33 pm    Post subject: Install problems - OS4.2, VMWare and Windows Reply with quote

I'm a complete novice when it comes to OpenSTEP and Apple-related OSs so please bear with me.
I'm using WIndows 7 Pro and VMWare Player.

I've managed to install the basic OpenSTEP 4.2 environment, but this has lead to a number of questions:

(i) I've tried to install the Developer environment. The various Developer applications appear to install but at the end of each installation I get a message along the lines of "Not all of the <app> installed because you have insufficient permissions" and there is no record of the developer applications having been installed. So: what permissions do I need and how do I change them on OS4.2?

(ii) At the moment I have the basic VGA display driver installed, a purely monochrome screen and an almost unusable mouse. I have found Bill Bereza's pre-compiled driver file (VMWareFB) at the atomicobjects website. Now I'm not sure how to install this driver. If I unarchive the .tar.gz file onto my Windows desktop I get a folder named 'VMWareFB.config' which contains a number of files. The question is: how do I get this into OS4.2 in VMWare and how do I 'execute the .config'? (I said I was an OS4.2 novice Very Happy).

I'm assuming that when I have installed/executed this file I will have color and higher resolutions so the next question is ..

(iii) where do I get a mouse driver?

Sorry if these are basic questions. Thanks for any help.
Rob Blessin Black Hole
Site Admin

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 8:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Install problems - OS4.2, VMWare and Windows Reply with quote