NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org

Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
"Cloning" a NeXTstep system?
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> NEXTSTEP / OPENSTEP Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jenne

PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:31 am    Post subject: "Cloning" a NeXTstep system? Reply with quote

Hello.

After reactivating a NeXTcube with NeXTstep 3.3 I asked myself if there is any possibility to "clone" a completely installed and running system of NeXTstep 3.3 to a second hard drive within the SCSI-chain. As far as I'm pretty new to NeXT in any objective I'm fairly un-trained in those topics and I would appreciate any hint about this.

Thank You very much and with kind regards from Switzerland

J
rice0067

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 2:32 pm    Post subject: Yay for Disk builder Reply with quote

The next was just like the mac in this regard. Just use Disk builder and you can clone the system you already have set up.

I dont have a system anymore so I cant give better directions, but I remember it being pretty straight forward.

I seem to recall that you could also netboot, and then install off the net.
(but at 10bt thats slow) Smile
nextchef

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am going to try and upgrade my color turbo slab to NS3.3 and a larger hard disk, but am unsure if DiskBuilder can do it. Can I follow the directions in Chapter7 of the SysAdmin guide posted earlier? Can DiskBuilder in NS 3.0 properly handle a 4G seagate disk? Will I need to add a disktab entry for this drive first? Is it easier to just do it all at the command prompt using boot and dd?

Chef

Been reading these two threads, and hopefully this will give me what I need.

http://www.nextcomputers.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=62
http://www.nextcomputers.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=146
nextchef