NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
SS5 Problems when installing NS 3.3

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Sun / HPPA Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
LOOM



Joined: 14 Jan 2016
Posts: 10
Location: from an island far off the mainland coast

PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 8:17 am    Post subject: SS5 Problems when installing NS 3.3 Reply with quote

Hi.

I'm trying to install NextStep 3.3 on my Sparcstation 5. It has a internal CDROM on SCSI ID 6 and a Seagate Cheetah (18XL ST318404LC 18.40 GB Ultra160 SCSI) disk on ID 3.
The disk is 18GB (which could be a problem?).

I'm following this guide and everything goes well until it starts preparing for installation.

It will print a bunch of errors such as:

mkdir: mnta: Read-only file system.
mkdir "mnta" failed, status 0x100
then swapon failed, no such file or dir ...
and a few other "no such file or dir"
At the end it will just quit the installation process.
Here's a screenshot:


I tried to install OpenBSD on the disk, and it worked great. OpenBSD partitioned the disk into 1gb partitions, so if NS used the first partitions on that disk and formatted them they should all be under 2GB. If it works that way.
I also tested 2 different NS 3.3 iso cds. The CD boots and everything seems ok until it actually starts to copy stuff to the disk.

Does anyone have any idea whats wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LOOM



Joined: 14 Jan 2016
Posts: 10
Location: from an island far off the mainland coast

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2016 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I burned the ISO image to the CD directly. From what I read in here it seems like that is OK for the sun hardware.
I also tried to make a 1500 mb partition, then a swap for a couple hundred mb and I left the rest of the disk unpartitioned. I still got the same error.

I could probably edit the rc.cdrom file and let it partition the disk as mentioned here http://www.nextcomputers.org/forums/viewtopic.php?p=14658#14658
But I would need to burn the edited iso file again.

I'm not sure why it says the file is read only though, it should mount the partition as rw after formatting. Or isn't it formatting anything at all ?
The partition is originally a BSD fs, not nextstep, because I used openbsd to partition the disk. I cannot find any material saying I need to partition the disk to the nextstep fs on beforehand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rob Blessin Black Hole
Site Admin


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 681
Location: Ft. Collins, Colorado

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

LOOM wrote:
I burned the ISO image to the CD directly. From what I read in here it seems like that is OK for the sun hardware.
I also tried to make a 1500 mb partition, then a swap for a couple hundred mb and I left the rest of the disk unpartitioned. I still got the same error.

I could probably edit the rc.cdrom file and let it partition the disk as mentioned here http://www.nextcomputers.org/forums/viewtopic.php?p=14658#14658
But I would need to burn the edited iso file again.

I'm not sure why it says the file is read only though, it should mount the partition as rw after formatting. Or isn't it formatting anything at all ?
The partition is originally a BSD fs, not nextstep, because I used openbsd to partition the disk. I cannot find any material saying I need to partition the disk to the nextstep fs on beforehand.
I've used those drives on Intel for silicon chip manufacturing systems running NeXTstep 3.3 but it creates a bunch of smaller partitions which you mount by editing fstab . I would try using a 2 gb disk and see if the install takes .... Much easier for initial test run . Sparc 5's are supported just make sure it is the hops risc/ Sparc Iso and not the Intel/ 68k as well !
_________________
Rob Blessin President computerpowwow ebay sales@blackholeinc.com http://www.blackholeinc.com
303-741-9998 Serving the NeXT Community since 2/9/93
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
LOOM



Joined: 14 Jan 2016
Posts: 10
Location: from an island far off the mainland coast

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The disk died after a few weeks, so I ended up using a scsi2sd instead. I used a old scsi 1gb drive ID for the first 1gb sectors and it worked great.

But if NS3.3 crashed, disk 2 will end up corrupt and it seems like the disk check might corrupt some of the files on disk #2 when trying to fix it so it's not that reliable. The boot disk works great though.

Is it possible to kill X or drop to shell if NS hangs ?
I cannot click "log out" without the system hanging when trying to quit the desktop manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rob Blessin Black Hole
Site Admin


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 681
Location: Ft. Collins, Colorado

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LOOM wrote:
The disk died after a few weeks, so I ended up using a scsi2sd instead. I used a old scsi 1gb drive ID for the first 1gb sectors and it worked great.

But if NS3.3 crashed, disk 2 will end up corrupt and it seems like the disk check might corrupt some of the files on disk #2 when trying to fix it so it's not that reliable. The boot disk works great though.

Is it possible to kill X or drop to shell if NS hangs ?
I cannot click "log out" without the system hanging when trying to quit the desktop manager.


I'm not sure if this will work on Sparc but to drop to a shell on a NeXT STATION or Cube command ~ goes to a NeXT> and command ~ ~ goes to the nmi monitor. Best Regards Rob
_________________
Rob Blessin President computerpowwow ebay sales@blackholeinc.com http://www.blackholeinc.com
303-741-9998 Serving the NeXT Community since 2/9/93
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mfny



Joined: 18 Mar 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry to necro this thread but I am having this exact same problem on a SPARCstation 4.

I have no floppy drive, just an external CDROM so cant do the fix involving editing stuff on the boot floppy.

So what can I do to fix this ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
macroexp



Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2018 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mfny wrote:
Sorry to necro this thread


Doubly sorry to necro the thread, but I just ran into this on my SS20/SX and got through it, so thought I'd relate my findings.

I had been running on a 9GB drive for years, and it finally gave up on me. On hand I had an 18GB drive and a 36GB - both Quantum drives. I put in the 18GB and booted off the OpenStep 4.2 media. Same issue - unable to mount mnta, read-only filesystem, etc.

Same issue on the 36GB - but then I noticed after rebooting with -v (and -s) that when the kernel detects the drives, it would say "No label" even when the previous boot's install attempt had "formatted" the drive. This made me think that the format (or labeling) was not working, probably because the drive was just too big for disk to figure out. I scrounged around and found a 50-pin 4GB drive and the install worked flawlessly to that drive, which somewhat confirmed my findings.

BUT, I wasn't about to give up. disk actually can handle large drives, after a fashion. I ended up booting into single user (-s) off the 4GB drive, and disk -i -b /dev/rsd1a to "format" (partition) the 36GB drive. But after doing this, disk -q /dev/rsd1a (which should dump out the disk name) says "No label". The command line parameters to reset the label refuse to work, BUT, interactive works. disk /dev/rsd1a then label write and entering some strings DID write a proper label!. For some reason, after this, /dev/sd1a is no longer formatted, so newfs /dev/sd1a took care of that. Mounting and ditto'ing from the 4gb got me up and running with use of half the drive (max 8 partitions * 2gb each).

I did this twice with the exact same results each time. One thing I HAVE NOT been able to do, even after prepping the drives as such, is to get them to mount when booted -s off the cdrom with e.g. mount -n /dev/sd1a /tmp. I do not understand how that works with small drives and not with big (pre-prepared) drives.

Anyways, if you have a small drive to bootstrap the install, you can use a big drive. In fact, I did this once with the initial step, so that the majority of the install from CD (after the first reboot) were performed on the "big" drive.

Hope this helps someone, but I would love to understand why the mount still gets rejected with "read only filesystem" except when it doesn't. Surprised
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> Sun / HPPA Hardware All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group