NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org

Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
About these pesky capacitors....
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mike

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 9:01 am    Post subject: About these pesky capacitors.... Reply with quote

Mike here again:

As you may have gathered, I am relatively new to NexT hardware, having received a really nice clean complete NeXTStation system with a failing hard drive that has been replaced. The computer is (now) working perfectly.

As far as I can tell, it has seen very little use and has been handled gently and stored well.

Reading back through the archives on this forum I have been spooked by the frequent references to the capacitors in this and some other NeXT models.

How will I know if and when my capacitors fail ?

What are the symptoms ?

Will it simply stop working ?

I have examined the capacitors in this unit very carefully (and looked on the internet at lots of pictures of swollen capacitors) and mine show no indications of distress.

I have also looked at the brilliant NextStation Mono Logic Board images at: http://www.asterontech.com/Asterontech/nextstation_mono_retore.htm

Neat-o !!

Mike
paolo.bertolo

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No experience with NeXT motherboards, I've replaced caps before they started giving troubles. On MO drives, faulty caps result into malfunctioning drives.
Worst thing that can happen though, is that leaked fluid damages the board and makes capacitor replacement quite tricky. Better replace them sooner than later.
bobo68

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You definitely want to replace the caps if they start to spill cap goo. The SMD caps tend to do that. That stuff will eat up other components and traces.
Mike

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK....