NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Set up networking under NeXTstep 0.8 and 0.9

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> NEXTSTEP / OPENSTEP Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
andreas_g



Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 422
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 9:52 am    Post subject: Set up networking under NeXTstep 0.8 and 0.9 Reply with quote

Hello all,

I was trying to set up networking under NeXTstep 0.8 and 0.9 but could not figure out how to make it work. For all later versions i successfully used the GUI tools for that. But 0.8 and 0.9 lack those tools.

Has anyone ever successfully set up networking under NeXTstep 0.8 or 0.9 and can provide some instructions? I want to be able to telnet to the world and set up NFS file sharing.

Best wishes,

Andreas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bobo68



Joined: 03 Jun 2015
Posts: 194
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

HostManager is just a UI for (I think) /etc/netinfo and /etc/hostconfig. You should be able to edit the files.

And maybe you have to have a look at /etc/resolv.conf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andreas_g



Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 422
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also think that HostManager is just a UI for these things. I tried to edit hostconfig and resolv.conf to match the values of system 1.0a, which i did set up using HostManager. But it does not work. There must be some other things it does. I'm not an expert in UNIX and networking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bobo68



Joined: 03 Jun 2015
Posts: 194
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Apr 08, 2017 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is the network interface activated (you should be able to see that during booting)? Can you ping the machine from another computer?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andreas_g



Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 422
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2017 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I may have to mention that i'm trying to do this using Previous emulator.

The network interface is activated. I can't ping the machine from my host computer (but that might be normal using SLiRP as a networking interface).

I think we can exclude the emulator as being the cause for the problems because using NeXTstep 1.0 everything is fine. It seems to be a problem with setting up networking under NeXTstep 0.x without the GUI tools. I'm certainly missing something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bobo68



Joined: 03 Jun 2015
Posts: 194
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2017 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

andreas_g wrote:
I may have to mention that i'm trying to do this using Previous emulator.

Ok, that's interesting information. Smile

andreas_g wrote:
The network interface is activated. I can't ping the machine from my host computer (but that might be normal using SLiRP as a networking interface).

Why are you using SLiRP?

Maybe you can copy and use the GUI tools from higher NeXTstep versions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andreas_g



Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 422
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2017 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using SLiRP because i don't know a better solution. Almost all emuators use that one.

I'd like to write up a procedure for users of Previous on how to set up networking in all versions of NeXTstep. It might work to copy over the tools from a later version. But that involves quite a lot of steps making it very impractical. I was hoping there is a simple command line or configuration file based method.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
eagle



Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 393

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I, too, am very interested in getting networking configured in 0.8 and 0.9, but have not figured out how to do it. Maybe I'll try copying over the tools from 1.0... if I do that, I'll let you know how it works out.
_________________
My NeXTs:
NeXT Computer prototype (68030-25 x2, 68040-25)
Two NeXTstations (68040-25)
All mono
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bobo68



Joined: 03 Jun 2015
Posts: 194
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm probably not getting it. Previous does not emulate an Ethernet port and that's why you use SLiRP?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eagle



Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 393

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The ethernet interface is emulated. SLiRP is the means by which that emulated ethernet interface connects with the real world.

In VMware and VirtualBox terms, we have NATted networking. I would love to have full bridged networking, so that the emulated NeXT could be on the network like any other system, but that's not what we have today.
_________________
My NeXTs:
NeXT Computer prototype (68030-25 x2, 68040-25)
Two NeXTstations (68040-25)
All mono
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andreas_g



Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 422
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bobo68 wrote:
Maybe you can copy and use the GUI tools from higher NeXTstep versions?

I just tried to copy over the tools from NeXTstep 1.0a but they do not launch under NeXTstep 0.9. So we'd definitely need to do it from the command line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> NEXTSTEP / OPENSTEP Software All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group