NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Boot Openstep Installation from CD
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> White Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
itomato



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 302
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 8:47 pm    Post subject: Boot Openstep Installation from CD Reply with quote

I just made El Torrito bootable CDs for installing OPENSTEP 4.2..

It boots FAST! It loads FAST! With a little work, an X-tra large disk image can be built with ALLLL the drivers included.

OS 4.2 Install Boot CD
OS 4.2 Drivers CD

----
In case anyone is curious how I made these:

* Create a temp directory. In this case, it was OS42.
* Move your .floppyimage files into the directory.
* Run 'mkisofs' like so:
Code:

mkisofs -r -b 4.2_YOUR_SPECIFIC.floppyimage -c boot.catalog -o cdname.iso .

* Run 'cdrecord' like so:
Code:

cdrecord -v speed=2 dev=/your/cdr cdname.iso


This should work equally well for NeXTSTEP 3.3 or Rhapsody.

It's installing happily onto my Dell Lattitude CP Notebook and my Compaq Armada M300 Cool


Last edited by itomato on Wed Sep 15, 2010 11:39 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
brams



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 511
Location: Blackburn, England

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 12:26 am    Post subject: Re: Boot Openstep Installation from CD Reply with quote

itomato wrote:
I just made El Torrito bootable CDs for installing OPENSTEP 4.2..


Excellent!

itomato wrote:
In case anyone is curious how I made these:

* Create a temp directory. In this case, it was OS42.
* Move your .floppyimage files into the directory.
* Run 'mkisofs' like so:
Code:

mkisofs -r -b 4.2_YOUR_SPECIFIC.floppyimage -c boot.catalog -o cdname.iso .

* Run 'cdrecord' like so:
Code:

cdrecord -v speed=2 dev=/your/cdr cdname.iso


This should work equally well for NeXTSTEP 3.3 or Rhapsody.
NOTE: I haven't successfully installed with this method, but I think it's because I burned my OS42 CD incorrectly.. For some reason the label did not get written, and the size is over 500MB.


So you're saying this does not work and we use the method below -

itomato wrote:
REVISED: I made use of 'bchunk' to create ISOs from my .bin image backups, and this handy cuesheet:

Code:

FILE "OS42_User.bin" BINARY
TRACK 01 MODE1/2352
INDEX 01 00:00:00


The ISO burned correctly - 488MB, "OPENSTEP_42" disk label..

It's installing happily onto my Dell Lattitude CP Notebook Cool


or are you combining the 2 images above into a 3rd OS 4.2 image and we have a bootable CD rom with drivers and user on? if that's so then this is magic!
_________________
NeXTcube Turbo Dimension, NeXTstation Turbo Color, MP2100, Q840av, Q650, WS G4 500, Pismo G4 550, SGI Octane R12K MXE, BeBox 133.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
itomato



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 302
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I should clarify.. My OS install CD (OPENSTEP 4.2 USER) was broken, and the 'bchunk' bit has to do with burning a replacement OS installation CD.

Here is another chapter in the boot CD process:

The initial driver CD I made was from a modified driver disk, tailored for VMware installation.
I have created additional ISOs from the "Official" Apple 4.2 Driver disks, as well as the Beta disks (1 & 2).

* Boot from the install CD.

* When selecting drivers for ATA/IDE, choose the "Primary/Seconday EIDE", the singular "EIDE", or SCSI if you're using SCSI.. If you choose the Intel PIIX driver at this point, even if it is recognized, you will have to load the driver from diskette after the initial installation. This might not be a problem on a desktop machine with a floppy as well as CDROM, but when installing on a laptop, it can be problematic. The most current EIDE drivers can be installed after the base software is loaded.

* Use whatever CD is appropriate for your situation, but bear in mind, it is frequently advantageous to be conservative when dealing with OPENSTEP drivers.

* After loading the Hard Disk and CDROM drivers, and you are prompted to "Continue without loading additional drivers..." - EJECT the CD and insert your User Install CD.

* You will see the Mach Operating System screen, and hopefully, your devices will be recognized..

I have uploaded additional ISOs for the Beta Drivers to my site and added some additional instructions/notes:
http://juddy.org/Openstep/index.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nextchef



Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 1007
Location: Missouri, USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a way to do this for booting on black hardware as well?

Chef
_________________
Chef
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madcrow



Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's the difference between the "Driver" CD and the "Official Driver" CD? Does the Driver CD include some of the beta drivers? Also, how did you make the install "disk" able to read the drivers in from CD? I didn't think that El Torito supported reading in new disk images from different CDs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MauiBoy



Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 23
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would also be interested to find out if this is possible with the black hardware. My floppy drive seems dead, so being able to boot the install disk from a CD version would be great!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 691
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Outside of a ROM upgrade I don't think it'll work (booting a cd on black). However if you dig around someone DD'd a CD onto a hard disk, then booted from that hard disk...

That may be an easier path to go down...

As an alternative, I wonder how hard it is to netboot a NeXT? Let alone if you can install via a Network install...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nextchef



Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 1007
Location: Missouri, USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

neozeed wrote:
Outside of a ROM upgrade I don't think it'll work (booting a cd on black). However if you dig around someone DD'd a CD onto a hard disk, then booted from that hard disk...

That may be an easier path to go down...

As an alternative, I wonder how hard it is to netboot a NeXT? Let alone if you can install via a Network install...


So are you saying that if the system has a boot capable ROM, you should be able to boot from the OS4.2 cd? On my TurboColor machines, NS3.3 cd boots fine for installation (without use of a floppy), but not my OS4.2 CD. It seems to find some kind of boot block, but when it tries to load it I get errors and it drops back to the monitor.

Chef
_________________
Chef
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neozeed



Joined: 15 Apr 2006
Posts: 691
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow now that is weird. I was under the impression that OS & NS used the same filesystem for the CD's and thusly should be readable by eachother...

Can you install your OS cd on a PC? (vpc/parallels/Q/Qemu etc etc?)

Perhaps it's damaged....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nextchef



Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 1007
Location: Missouri, USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

neozeed wrote:
Wow now that is weird. I was under the impression that OS & NS used the same filesystem for the CD's and thusly should be readable by eachother...

Can you install your OS cd on a PC? (vpc/parallels/Q/Qemu etc etc?)

Perhaps it's damaged....


CD works fine on intel, and in Parallels and VMware. I even reburned from my backup iso image, and got the same result. I just went ahead and dumped a NS3.3 image on it and then ran the updater app to get it upgraded to OS4.2.

Chef
_________________
Chef
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nextchef



Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 1007
Location: Missouri, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

itomato wrote:
* When selecting drivers for ATA/IDE, choose the "Primary/Seconday EIDE", the singular "EIDE", or SCSI if you're using SCSI.. If you choose the Intel PIIX driver at this point, even if it is recognized, you will have to load the driver from diskette after the initial installation. This might not be a problem on a desktop machine with a floppy as well as CDROM, but when installing on a laptop, it can be problematic.


When I do this, it still asks me for the drivers disk after rebooting. All I selected was the "Primary/Seconday Dual EIDE" for both floppy and cd during first stage install. The Dell Inspiron 7000 I am trying to load it on has a bad floppy drive, so I can not just resort to the floppy to get these drivers. If I skip the drivers, I get a kernel panic because of the missing EIDE kernel bus class.

Any thoughts?

Chef
_________________
Chef
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kb7sqi



Joined: 24 Sep 2007
Posts: 488
Location: Winston Salem, NC

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nextchef,
I'm having the exact problem this moment w/ a Dell Latitude C610. Sad So, I'm going to take my hard drive & throw it in an older laptop which still has a floppy drive. Then I'll finish the install from there. After that, I'm going to throw the hard drive back in the newer laptop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
nextchef



Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 1007
Location: Missouri, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kb7sqi wrote:
nextchef,
I'm having the exact problem this moment w/ a Dell Latitude C610. Sad So, I'm going to take my hard drive & throw it in an older laptop which still has a floppy drive. Then I'll finish the install from there. After that, I'm going to throw the hard drive back in the newer laptop.


Good idea, as I can throw it in my gateway laptop which has a working floppy. My hope was to upgrade to the dell since it has a larger screen and more memory than my current gateway OPENSTEP laptop. Come to think of it, I might be able to just ghost that drive over this one in the Dell and not have to re-install. The video drivers are different, so I would probably have to interrupt the boot and do a 'config=Default' so it loads the generic drivers.

Thanks for the good idea.
_________________
Chef
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kb7sqi



Joined: 24 Sep 2007
Posts: 488
Location: Winston Salem, NC

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nextchef wrote:
kb7sqi wrote:
nextchef,
I'm having the exact problem this moment w/ a Dell Latitude C610. Sad So, I'm going to take my hard drive & throw it in an older laptop which still has a floppy drive. Then I'll finish the install from there. After that, I'm going to throw the hard drive back in the newer laptop.


Good idea, as I can throw it in my gateway laptop which has a working floppy. My hope was to upgrade to the dell since it has a larger screen and more memory than my current gateway OPENSTEP laptop. Come to think of it, I might be able to just ghost that drive over this one in the Dell and not have to re-install. The video drivers are different, so I would probably have to interrupt the boot and do a 'config=Default' so it loads the generic drivers.

Thanks for the good idea.


Yep, that's how I always move a harddrive from one system to the other. I got tied up re-compiling stuff because of a openssl security flaw, so I'll get back to the Dell in the morning. Very Happy Oh well, atleast I got bunch of stuff recompiled against the new openssl. hehe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
itomato



Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 302
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's been a while since I have messed with it..

I think a new base driver disk needs to be made before it will work. I have tried with some success on a SCSI system, but I ran into un-related hard disc issues on that machine.

I don't have a running Openstep machine or image right now, and I really can't devote any time to constructing one, else I could investigate the driver disk further.

I believe it's simply a matter of deleting/adding driver bundles to the floppy in the correct locations, and creating/editing catalog entries for them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> White Hardware All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group