NeXT Computers Forum Index NeXT Computers
www.NeXTComputers.org
 
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages

Log inLog in  RegisterRegister


Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
NeXT DSP Memory Expansion Module
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> NeXT Work Logs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
helf



Joined: 29 Dec 2005
Posts: 1097
Location: Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wooo! exciting! First the relatively easy overclock mod and now the schematics to the DSP cache card. Now we just need the docs to the SCSI Controller Smile
_________________
*INACTIVE*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
NeXTnewbe



Joined: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 274
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ARGhhh!!

yes all new components IS6xWV1288DALL are limited to 4V or less, the original is 5V, so a resistor is required on the Vcc, not sure about the I/O and Address inputs,

I'm not the best one here, someone with a bit more experience in electronics can help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cuby



Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 160
Location: Coburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeXTnewbe wrote:
ARGhhh!!

yes all new components IS6xWV1288DALL are limited to 4V or less, the original is 5V, so a resistor is required on the Vcc, not sure about the I/O and Address inputs,

I'm not the best one here, someone with a bit more experience in electronics can help


The output voltage on the data lines also has to be 5V-compliant, so you would need a (rather fast) level shifter. But see the parts in my message above, these should work.

-- Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
NeXTnewbe



Joined: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 274
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cuby

sorry, but I have no clue about "level shifter" as my electronic are so rusted that I only can do the pure basics

Let me ask you something, let me finished the schematics based on the original, and if you want I can send it to you for your modification, if you are happy to help us

regarding the PCB, I have no skills for this, I would prefer to know if someone can volunteer to help on produce them, based on the schematics and the original dimensions (if two layers are good, why not), it could be even cheap to produce some to all interested in this little project


what do you think?

EDIT: I google the level shifter, I undesrtand the the basic concept, but not sure how to implement this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nitro
Site Admin


Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 421
Location: Littleton, Colorado USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeXTnewbe wrote:
I was the guy who made him remember your email Nitro, he mention that you have contacted him few years ago, but he was so busy that he totally forgot it.

When I saw your post I assumed thatís what happened. Thanks for sending him a reminder.

NeXTnewbe wrote:
Nitro, please we need to add a disclaimer, and giving all credit to the original module to Tim and Joel for the module, this should be a "Must", to make sure we are on le legal side all the time.

I placed a copyright notice in the project folder. Tomís PDF file also contains his copyright notice in at least three places.

NeXTnewbe wrote:
Nitro, how can I upload information to the Filearchive? I will put more bits that I got regarding the module

Feel free to send documents and files to the admin e-mail account here and Iíll move them to the project folder. I can also set up a temporary FTP account if you have files that are too large to e-mail.

Thank you to everyone involved in this project. Cool
_________________
Nitro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeXTnewbe



Joined: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 274
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Idea

mm, well I just had a contact with Austin Semiconductors and I asked

"Hi I would like to know if your company still producing the static SRAM MT5C1008 128k x 8 Sram at 5V as new part and new condition"

they answer was

"Good afternoon. The MT5C1008 parts are standard, active productcurrently still in production. If you would like to obtain a quoteplease contact our authorized representative in the UK"

So seems that it would be possible to get the same type of memory used originally

I will like to order a sample to test a memory circuit made on a protoboard, but i will need to take the connections out form the board in a safe way to test the original design with those comoponents,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeXTnewbe



Joined: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 274
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wonder if it would be possible to get something similar to this connector
but with 64 pin for the same type of socket use on the MB



can be use to test the DSP memory?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pentium



Joined: 23 Jun 2006
Posts: 1140
Location: Kamloops, BC

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you mean some sort of SIMM adapter?
Why not just make a little PCB that breaks the slot out into 50-pin connectors or something?
_________________

-NeXT 68040 Cube with NS 3.3 and 64Mb ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
NeXTnewbe



Joined: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 274
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pentium wrote:
you mean some sort of SIMM adapter?
Why not just make a little PCB that breaks the slot out into 50-pin connectors or something?


simple, I don't have the time and the risk of building a PBC and have a shor circuit is too high

Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nitro
Site Admin


Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 421
Location: Littleton, Colorado USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeXTnewbe wrote:
pentium wrote:
you mean some sort of SIMM adapter?
Why not just make a little PCB that breaks the slot out into 50-pin connectors or something?


simple, I don't have the time and the risk of building a PBC and have a shor circuit is too high

Crying or Very sad


Pentium brings up a good point.

NeXTnewbe wrote:
simple, I don't have the time


What? If you don't have the time then how do you expect to follow through on this?.

NeXTnewbe wrote:
and the risk of building a PBC and have a shor circuit is too high


I'm guessing a prototype will be necessary for testing. How do you hope to test this without actually plugging it in?
_________________
Nitro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pentium



Joined: 23 Jun 2006
Posts: 1140
Location: Kamloops, BC

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Pentium brings up a good point.

I have this whole SIMM-out-of-the-cube adapter planned (SIMM adapter converts into ribbon cables which run through an open slat in the back and to another board which converts it bask into a SIMM slot) but I jast have no way to draw it out as my proper CAD/PCB drafting system is down and I'm not approving any sort of MS paint drawing.

Why not just find a mono slab or something, take the top off and use that? You get direct assess to the slot.
_________________

-NeXT 68040 Cube with NS 3.3 and 64Mb ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
NeXTnewbe



Joined: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 274
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pentium wrote:
Quote:

Pentium brings up a good point.



Why not just find a mono slab or something, take the top off and use that? You get direct assess to the slot.


is hard to find in UK an mono slab, so your idea of having a SIMM out, is the think i want to test the memory in a protoboard, to test the components and the memory design

this is more cheap that burn a SIMM memory pbc for every design, Pentium are you able to build one or two

I'm going to ask for some sample memory modules, if we get this running and if the original design works with some new components, I may buy some and then if we can get a SIMM pbc we can just ship it to those interested in get a DSP memroy module

what do you think?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pentium



Joined: 23 Jun 2006
Posts: 1140
Location: Kamloops, BC

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I could get access to some blank SIMMS that only have the pads at the bottom I'm quite sure I could make up a few of these '"outside the computer" slots/boards you want. Unfortunatly I don't know where to make blank SIMMs.
_________________

-NeXT 68040 Cube with NS 3.3 and 64Mb ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
NeXTnewbe



Joined: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 274
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pentium wrote:
If I could get access to some blank SIMMS that only have the pads at the bottom I'm quite sure I could make up a few of these '"outside the computer" slots/boards you want. Unfortunatly I don't know where to make blank SIMMs.
Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cuby



Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 160
Location: Coburg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pentium wrote:
If I could get access to some blank SIMMS that only have the pads at the bottom I'm quite sure I could make up a few of these '"outside the computer" slots/boards you want. Unfortunatly I don't know where to make blank SIMMs.


You could try to find some old Mac IIfx SIMMs - these also have 64 pins and fit into the DSP RAM slot (tried that yesterday) - and desolder the DRAM chips. However, with 35ns access time, manual wiring of the SRAMs might cause lots of trouble due to differing signal run time, signal crosstalk etc. But it might be worth a try.

-- Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NeXT Computers Forum Index -> NeXT Work Logs All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 3 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group