Happy new owner of a NeXT N1000 Cube

Started by matthewmac66, September 07, 2007, 04:43:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

matthewmac66

I'm very happy to have picked up one of these lovely bits of computing history on eBay today.

As a complete NeXT noob, I welcome any tips you might pass on....I'm guessing first will be how to bring back an aged case finish, and where I might find optical disks?

Thanks in advance, all.  I look forward to contributing to the forums

-Mac :D
"UNIX is an operating system, OS/2 is half an operating system, Windows is a shell, and DOS is a boot partition virus." - Peter Coffin

Nitro

Congratulations on obtaining a NeXTcube. :)  There's a large number of knowledgeable NeXT folks who hang out here so I'm sure that someone can answer most of the questions you may have.  Please make yourself at home and welcome to the forums.
Nitro

helf

Welcome to the forums and congrats on buying one of the best computers ever made ;)
After an apparent 15ish year hiatus... I'm baaaaack! :D (12/12/2023)

nextchef

Welcome, Welcome ..

So did you get a complete ready to run system, or just a cube?

Another convert to the "NeXT side"

Chef

Nightengale

Indeed welcome. Been hanging out here since 2004 (openstep.se) - it is a place for those who have passion for all things NeXT.
NeXT Turbo Color 4.2, HP Pavillion w/4.2,MacBook Pro, PPC G5 dual 2.7 10.5.8, Imac G4 20 inch

matthewmac66

Quote from: "Nightengale"Indeed welcome. Been hanging out here since 2004 (openstep.se) - it is a place for those who have passion for all things NeXT.

I'm looking forward to it!  8)
"UNIX is an operating system, OS/2 is half an operating system, Windows is a shell, and DOS is a boot partition virus." - Peter Coffin

matthewmac66

Quote from: "helf"Welcome to the forums and congrats on buying one of the best computers ever made ;)