Introduction...

Started by AStar617, May 10, 2007, 07:35:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AStar617

Hi Everyone...

I just stumbled across this forum, and think I'll be hanging out for a while. I'm a Technical Support Engineer for Sun hardware/software for a living, and have a pretty good sized vintage UNIX hardware collection with a focus on Sun--I've got everything from 68010-based Sun-2s up through UltraSPARC-III+ based Sun Blade 2000s. (Currently, the following platforms are represented in my collection: SunOS/68k, SunOS/SPARC, SunOS/x86, Solaris/SPARC, Solaris/x86, Solaris/PowerPC, HP-UX/PA-RISC, AIX/PowerPC, VMS/VAX, DEC Ultrix, SGI IRIX, Apple A/UX, Amiga AMIX... etc... :))

Anyways I'm naturally interested in running NeXTSTEP on SPARC. The first time I saw a NeXT box was in a textbook my mother had while in a continuing ed degree program in the very early 90s. I thought it was the coolest box. Within the past year, I did manage to rescue a color slab, bare and in unknown condition (I know it needs a disk at least). Seeing as how I have a waist-high stack of SS4s/5s/20s and the 3.3 RISC distro, I know I'll get NeXTSTEP running on Sun hardware before black :)

After some deliberation, I've decided to go with a 110MHz SS5, 256mb RAM, and dual 4gb disks. I also have enough SBus framebuffers and Sun monitors to configure as many heads as the platform/OS combo will allow :D I look forward to keeping the group posted on how things go, or tugging on a few sleeves here and there if I run into trouble.

In the meantime, if anyone has any questions about any and all things Sun, feel free to post and I'll do my best to help. Keep in mind, though, that right now I probably know less NS-specific info than you do :lol:

Regards,

-A
NeXTstation color slab: still in surgery | SPARCstation 5/110: 128mb, 4gb, 3xCG6, NS3.3risc | HP 712/60: still in surgery | Plus too many Suns to list

dlundh

Welcome!

Keep in mind that only SuperSPARC CPUs will do.